The Subtle Art of Caring

steve wardrip
Pinetop Camp Store
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2017

By Steve Wardrip

See it coming? Worth the trouble? You cleaned my fish for me.

I caught it with your help and then you cleaned that fish for me.

That really means a lot to me.

Yeah, I know you were this and that. Oh, yeah, know all about the arrests and your background.

Yes, I read the papers and I listen to the gossip.

Yeah, I know what a terrible person you are.

The thing is, you cleaned my fish for me.

Without me asking, without even mentioning it, you grabbed that fish and smiled and with a determination, you cleaned that fish for me. You presented the beautiful supper to me with a cheery eye and a sincere intention.

You may have done some bad things in your life, but you have done some good things too.

If anyone is counting ... you cleaned my fish for me.

If anyone is interested in hearing about the subtle art of caring, then ...

Clean someone's fish for them.

Without anyone suggesting, mentioning or asking, just take that fish, enjoy cleaning it and present it to the one who is honored.

You do not clean fish? Some people don’t. Oh, to find a caring person! To find and help someone who is not caring for someone else, but cares for himself, or just cares, for the sake of caring, is a noble act. They can become fish cleaners, too. They don’t have to, but if they do, they care, too, in all they do. When a person cares, it expands the universe, creating more joy and less sorrow. More smiling and less crying. More happiness and less sadness.

The word, “Stressed” backwards is “Desserts”. Which do you choose?

Clean someone's fish, fix someone a treat, smile and open a door, help someone carry something, pay it forward by paying for someone's meal, be of help where you know you can, be there for someone who needs to talk, be There for someone who needs a fish cleaned for them. Just be there for them, that’s how to care. Even when you are not there, care. Just care.

Cleaning is caring.

Care.

--

--

steve wardrip
Pinetop Camp Store

Writer of Rumors, Gossip, Lies and Dreams — Poet, Scallywag, Whippersnapper and Galactic Co-Pilot