Pick Up Your Dreams and Start Over Again

Let not age or time determine the validity of your dreams

Ritika (Bajaj) Lalwani
Pink Pinjra

--

Afew days ago, when I picked up the Indian musical instrument, the sitar, after more than two decades, I felt a surge of nostalgia come over me.

I had started learning how to play the sitar at the young age of 10. So, when my fingers ran across the instrument, I wasn’t just taken back to my childhood, I almost felt what it meant to “get in touch with your inner child.”

Psychologists use this phrase often, as do healers and new-age alternative therapists. While it has many meanings, my biggest takeaway from it is to get in touch with your playful and joyful side that occurs so naturally in childhood.

As age progresses, and we get educated and take on more responsibilities, some part of that inner child disappears and gets buried in our routines.

But, soon a time comes when you know you have to go back to the past, and take from it what worked — be it a hobby, a skill, or a creative interest that made your growing years unique to you, and brought out your most creative side.

For me, this was the time when I learned how to play the sitar. It gave me a voice, a…

--

--

Ritika (Bajaj) Lalwani
Pink Pinjra

I write because it's my passion, because I sometimes make money from it, but mostly because it helps me connect with myself, others & comprehend life better!