Do what makes you happy!

Archana Muralidharan
PinStove
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2018

What is it about food memories that shapes the tales of our lives?

Is it true that food laced with memory evokes our imagination and defines who we are and where we are from?

Memories are reflections of time. It has the power to take us through on a journey to past and the present giving a nostalgic feeling about location, flavour, taste and texture of food. Sentimental feelings of this kind is the driving factor to become a chef in PinStove. It’s this food memory that invites feelings about home and people that we miss in life.

I have to say these memories are habitual and repetitive things that our loved ones prepare with care. For instance, my Grandma loved making Pazham Pori (Banana Fritters) and Kumbalappam (Steamed Jackfruit Dumplings) with tea during monsoon. In Kerala, It always rains for few hours followed by golden interlude of soft sunshine through the wet coconut fronds. I try to reminisce this scene by cooking Pazham Pori in London when it rains.

India Kerala Authentic Banana Fry (Pazham Pori)

Dealing with grief is never easy. When you lose someone you love dearly, pain takes hold of you. Losing my Grand ma a year ago has taught me many life lessons. Her lovely recipes is the only keepsake which I will never part.

I thank Sujith my husband who channeled me to PinStove, a platform to share your food memories. Every dish that I cook authentically is packed with one of my grandma’s positive story which makes me happy. Hey after all, I am doing more of what I love.

PinStove Download Links

IPHONE

ANDROID

--

--