South Indian veg home cooked dishes that I learned from my grandmother…

Deepa Ganesh
PinStove
Published in
3 min readFeb 26, 2018

My definition of a great dish is .. the most original and inherited recipes with fresh ingredients and cooked in a healthy way.

Thanks for checking out my blog. I’m Deepa. I was born and brought up in a village near Tanjore in South India and I’m currently living in UK. I’m an IT professional by career and a food buff by passion :-)

Ever since I was a little girl I have had this immense passion for cooking. I used to help my mom during my childhood and the interest started at a very early age. Nowadays I found the food we eat is not as healthy as it should be and we get lot of health issues due to our modern lifestyle and food.

I always believe in natural fresh ingredients and the vegetables in cooking that digest easily. I follow my grandma’s & mom’s recipes and I also try to be adventurous and have created a few recipe of my own. Recently I came to know and experience myself that, using red rice and other millets can keep control of weight as they have reduced triglycerides (Bad cholesterol).

I believe that cooking is fun & divine that gives me a diversion from any stress. I choose NOT to cook meat, so all of the foods I prepare cater for vegetarians. I always love to try new recipes and I’m planning to bring the traditional south Indian recipes back, which were lost due to modern junk foods.

Happy to be part of the the PinStove family and I truly appreciate it because it’s a platform for any one with interest in cooking to express their vision through the form of great dishes. For me it’s all about pure vegetarian dishes, cooked in a very traditional way that I learned from my grandmother and mother. I enjoyed the hour long session on Sunday when the founders of PinStove took time to visit me, taste my food and patiently explain to me everything including how to take great pictures, presentation, packaging, food safety certification (which is in progress) and the importance of having an insurance, as it’s my new business. We are family :-)

My dishes are now available on PinStove for customers in Sutton

LOOKING FORWARD TO GROW AND EXPAND MY PASSION AND BUSINESS ALONG WITH THE YOUNG PINSTOVE

Download links for the app, if any one interested to join this platform

IPHONE https://goo.gl/SxMW9X

ANDROID https://goo.gl/EuTh4t

--

--

Deepa Ganesh
PinStove
Writer for

Software Engineer, but an authentic home chef in all south Indian home dishes.