How I transitioned into UX Research

On storytelling, finding your voice, and why unique voices are necessary to shape great products

Marisol Sierra
Pinterest Design
6 min readNov 9, 2022

--

A few of my Pinterest boards (linked below)

This summer, I successfully completed my 1-year long apprenticeship as Pinterest’s first UX research apprentice, and have since converted to a full time qualitative UX researcher on the Product Research team. Yay! Career transitions are never easy, and they’re especially stressful as a first-generation non-profit worker looking to pivot into one of the most seemingly niche fields in tech.

And yet it was right in the middle of the pandemic, as an education worker living in one of the most expensive cities in the world, that I decided to pursue my newfound dream: becoming a UX researcher.

I’m a self-taught researcher, having spent the better part of a year doing my own learning through reading textbooks, watching videos, listening to podcasts and of course, speaking to countless folks in the industry via warmly worded LinkedIn connect notes (you learn to get creative with 300 characters). And, as Pinterest’s first ever research apprentice-turned-researcher, I always get questions from folks on similar journeys: How did you do it? I’m happy to share that story with you here.

To start, I’m happy to share the resources I used for teaching myself, which are linked below. But think of these methods and how-to’s as tools that you will want to familiarize yourself with, rather than boxes you have to check to “master the craft of UX research.”

The truth is, there’s no magic formula or course that will ever make you ready to be a researcher. Instead, I recommend folks take the time to really craft their voice and narrative as a researcher.

I often find myself paraphrasing this piece of advice I heard while scrolling through TikTok one day: you need to be willing to be a little delusional. That is, you really have to believe that you are capable and that your voice matters. Call it delusion, or self-conviction, or even manifestation, but I truly think there’s something to building confidence in yourself as a researcher (or designer, or whatever you want to transition into), and it all starts with storytelling.

Here are my tips on how to storytell your way into the field, and how practicing this skill shapes great research for everyone.

Background inspiration from my Pinterest board

You are capable: outline your background and experience

Think of this as the “what” to your story: what are the tangible skills that you bring to the role?

Before I came to Pinterest, I had one role on my resume: working four years as a counselor for first-generation college students. Though I had never tackled product problems, I had just spent a year helping dozens of students individually navigate the changes that came with a remote college experience. From developing personalized plans for students adjusting to asynchronous learning, to facilitating discussions that helped them process the socioemotional change of moving back home, and even designing a website for our resources and services –my background in the non-profit space was rich and valuable.

I combed through my past experience and identified key skills that I knew could be transferable to user research: empathy, relationship-building, managing ambiguity, defining problems, and collaborating with others to design solutions.

Once you’ve identified your skills and experience, make sure you take the time to honor them and give them the story they deserve. Remember: it’s likely your past work experience is transferable to research, and you just need to draw a connection in your story.

Vision inspiration from my Pinterest board

Your voice matters: craft your point of view

You also need to explain why this story matters. What’s your vision? And how does it set you apart?

In my experience, the best researchers at Pinterest aren’t the best because they’ve mastered a certain method or practiced in the field for x amount of years. They’re the best because they bring their own unique expertise and way of thinking into the work we do. Whether it’s a background in academia that facilitates community-based methods for inclusive research, a teaching background that allows them to effortlessly explain complex problems to stakeholders, or even a stylist side hustle that helps them read and understand people on an entirely different level.

The research team at Pinterest is proof that there’s no one correct way to learn. The very existence of an apprenticeship program at Pinterest shows that unique perspectives are not only valued, but actively sought. When I interviewed, I took the opportunity to really lean into who I am as a person and how I approach my work: with sincere joy, creativity and authenticity.

I opened up about my love for fashion and DIY, how I planned virtual astrology workshops and reality TV shows for my coworkers’ Zoom-birthdays, and even my fascination with mirror selfies. Of course, I don’t recommend that everyone start incorporating selfies into their interview responses! The point is, you have to find a narrative that really speaks to who you are.

Story inspiration from my Pinterest board

The value of storytelling

After all, stories are what user research is all about. We conduct studies to learn about our users: who are they? How do they use Pinterest? What do they dream about and who do they share these dreams with?

We find these stories and we craft narratives about why they matter: how they inform design, identify pain points, even create entirely new visions for our team. UX research is proof that any user can shape our products, and that every voice and perspective matters.

Programs like the Pinterest Apprenticeship are shaped around this belief, too.

You don’t need a technical degree or a shiny tech company name on your resume in order to shape digital spaces and experiences. In fact, the most inspirational products are built by teams that are strengthened by people with diverse stories and unique ways of thinking.

To close…

It’s been more than a year since I started my journey of transitioning from a college counselor to a user experience researcher in tech. I’m deeply grateful to have the opportunity to continue to learn and grow alongside many wonderful people I met on the Pinterest Product Research team and the broader Design org, and I’m thrilled to continue using my voice to shape how we design and build for the millions of Pinners around the world.

Resources for getting started in UX Research:

For getting started studying UX Research:

  1. A beginner’s guide to getting started in UX Research put together by Lade Tawak.
  2. Comprehensive articles and tutorials from the Nielson Norman Group
  3. About Face is textbook for familiarizing yourself with UX foundations
  4. A quick and easy course from CareerFoundry for those who learn best through video

For contextual learning and stories:

  1. User Interviews has a great podcast called Awkward Silences
  2. dscout has a wonderful blog called People Nerds
  3. Here are two great YouTube bloggers, AonaTalks and KevinLiang

--

--