I Landed 2 Data Science Jobs — But Only After I Stopped Applying

Facing data science job rejection? You might be applying too much. Learn how to focus your ambitions and your search.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Want to create your own data science portfolio but don’t know where to begin? Create a job-worthy portfolio with my free project guide.

The Wrong Approach To Apply To Data Science Jobs That Set Me Back 3 Months

Over two years ago, I quit my hourly job to take on a fast-paced, high-pressure and thankless full-time role: Job applicant.

Prior to making the decision to making finding a job my full-time job, I, like you, encountered a lot of frustration in my, frankly, half-assed job search.

Before and after work I’d send out 5–10 applications. I took a scattershot approach to job hunting. If I deemed myself even remotely qualified, I’d apply. Entry-level, junior, senior. It didn’t matter. A role was a role.

Unsurprisingly, my spray and pray method didn’t quite work the way I intended. Since I was playing an odds game, I was actually getting follow up inquiries and phone interviews.

But nearly all of these ended with a form email featuring the dreaded canned line:

“You’re not a fit for this role.”

--

--