That Newly Remodeled Taco Bell Says A Lot

Jeff Solomon
Pitashi
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2010

There is a Taco Bell on Roberson at Beverlywood. I pass by there often on my way to a meeting I frequent. For a long time I noticed how ghetto that Taco Bell looked. It seemed to fit just fine in the landscape of other retail shops, donut stores and fast food joints. Beverlywood is actually a really nice area, but like most areas in Los Angeles, the adjoining commercial landscape is often pretty battered.

Well, to my surprise I saw that Taco Bell had been remodeled, and not the Home Depot vinyl window style either. The store is just incredible. I saw it at night so the landscaping and wall coverings were lit up with spotlights and wall sconces. There was architectural stone siding, great new Taco Bell signs, newly paved and lined parking lot, new tables, floor tile, windows, everything. It was quite stunning.

Whats the point? Well, although I do like Taco Bell, it’s not about Taco Bell in this case. It’s about progress. I love progress. That slight remodel to Taco Bell completely transformed the landscape of that block. I believe that one Taco Bell will drive the whole neighborhood upwards. Other stores and shops will follow-suit. Taggers are going to be less likely to spray their lame names on walls near there. Crime will go down. Happiness will go up. People like to be around things that look good. If we just improve the little things in our world, they will have an impact on the big things. After all, why can’t the Taco Bells look good too?

Content provided by Pitashi, Jeff Solomon’s Guide to Everything.

--

--

Jeff Solomon
Pitashi

Entrepreneur & 6x founder @velocify @amplifyla @markuphero @audiojoyapps @geekingapp | Teacher. Advisor. Content Creator. Product. Marketing. Startups. Dad.