TRANSLATION HUMOR

25 Common Expressions Decoded

I don’t follow politics = I watched the debate and promptly moved into a cave.

John Corten
Pitfall

--

An English to English translator. Image courtesy of KoolShooters on Pexels
  1. I’m pro-family = I have at least one secret family.
  2. To make a long story short = I’ve just wasted a lot of your time.
  3. I’m goal-oriented = You have to pay me to do anything.
  4. Don’t listen to the haters = Only listen to me, even when I’m hating.
  5. You only live once (YOLO) = I have no money left.
  6. I live each day as if it’s my last = I have no money left.
  7. The future belongs to those who prepare for it = I just came into a lot of money.
  8. I’m an open book = I’m hiding many, many things.
  9. I consider myself a pretty happy-go-lucky person = I’m the most tightly-wound human you will ever meet.
  10. I’m on a cleanse = This food scares me.
  11. I don’t sweat the small stuff = I’m not detail-oriented.
  12. Don’t judge a book by its cover = I’m at least 45 years old.
  13. I am one with the universe = The drugs have kicked in nicely.
  14. I like my steak still mooing = I’ve never heard of listeria.
  15. Better late than never = What the fuck took you so long?
  16. I’m giving you the benefit of the doubt = I still don’t believe you, but I’ve been told there’s nothing I can do about it.
  17. Treasure every moment = You might be dying.
  18. No pain, no gain = I’m about to hurt you.
  19. We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it = Let’s pray we never get anywhere near that bridge.
  20. So far so good = I have no idea what I’m doing.
  21. The truth shall set you free = I’ve lost track of which lies I’ve told.
  22. The ball is in your court = I’ve pretended to try just long enough to dump this all on you.
  23. It could always be worse = I have never experienced empathy.
  24. Easier said than done = This isn’t something I’m willing to lift a finger to accomplish.
  25. Good things come to those who wait = I’m never going to give you what you want.

--

--

John Corten
Pitfall

Writer of funny and serious things in The Haven, Doctor Funny, The Pub, Bouncin' and Behavin', Invisible Illness, Illumination, and Beyond the Scoreboard.