A SPOOF

Are You in Love With an Inanimate Object?

Was it love at first sight?

Kerry Kramer
Pitfall
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Photo by Uros Petrovic on Unsplash

There are eight different types of love, according to the ancient Greeks. I am most familiar with Eros; Romantic love, Pragma; Enduring love, Agape; Universal love, and Storge; family love.

Not listed by the ancient Greeks as a common type of love is objectophilia; the love of objects. I found that objectophilia, also called object- sexuality gained its first media attention in 1979, when Eija-Ritta Eklof, a model-builder who loves structures, married the Berlin Wall.

You can’t make this shit up.

Whether objectophilia is a fetish or a disorder depends on whether the love of an object interferes with everyday life. Either way, I am not referring to this condition, I am referring to the platonic affection I have for my Lazy Boy. I do not want to marry my recliner, nor does my attachment to this chair interfere with my everyday life, and just to make it clear, I have no sexual or romantic feelings towards it.

But I do love my Lazy Boy. It gives me comfort when I am tired. It supports me as I watch TV, read, knit, or write. It elevates my feet and legs after I run my usual 10 miles a day. Did you fall for that? Never going to happen, but it does help my circulation when I prop my feet up.

--

--

Kerry Kramer
Pitfall

I am every woman. I write about the irony of life, friendship, authenticity, aging, and life experiences with humor and honesty. My Motto: Be Your Own Anchor!