SOCIAL MEDIA

Actor Steve Guttenberg… Philosopher of Positivity For Our End Times?

What the eff is going ON?!?

Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!
Pitfall
Published in
6 min readNov 24, 2023

--

Steve Guttenberg during the movie Cocoon | Photo courtesy of Flickr

A voice reaches my ear from across the room.

Some guy is doing positive-speak or something.

Affirmations? A guided meditation? I can’t tell.

“Sometimes you have to take the good with the good. I know it sounds kind of funny, but sometimes, everything is going to be okay… sometimes it is a great day, so savor it — savor those great days.”

I follow the sound and find my partner staring at his phone, lost in maybe some YouTube video?

He almost has tears in his eyes. This is not like him. This is not the kind of stuff he usually allows himself to fall into.

It starts up again:

Something good is going on… I’m strong, I’m resilient, I’m also sensitive, I’m calm yet I’m excitable. I love the people in my life, I love myself. I just think something’s going on. I can’t explain it to you… I hope something’s going on for you, and I hope it’s good.

The voice is pleasant, familiar, genuine. Not some Tony Robbins focus-group-tested spiel on autopilot designed to cajole you into their five-year 10-step workshop package.

--

--

Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!
Pitfall

Joe Guay, a recovering people-pleaser, is an essayist, actor/voiceover guy with musings on mental health, LGBTQ, humor and travel & nature as church