SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST

When A Bee Enters My Classroom

“It’s just a bee. Chill!”

Supritha Kamalanathan
Pitfall

--

My college is the purest definition of living in sync with nature. So in sync that you can expect anything anywhere at any time, or at all times. Nature is everywhere.

That being said, it’s not uncommon that we have a few bees attending our classes now and then. Especially since the bees in this area don’t really have a life’s big purpose and a destination to be reached when zipping past.

There are a total of 8 windows. It can come through any one of the windows. Or many can come through a many one of the windows. Our luck that day defines it all. Destiny plays a little role too.

And once the bee — or several bees — has entered, you get to see what happens when nature and humans interact.

There we have a few boys running out of the class and shutting the doors tight so that we people inside can spend some great quality time with a part of nature. So sweet of them.

And there is that group who have their insides turning upside down but their mouths turning downside up with a, “It’s just a bee guys. Chill!”. I know them. You know them. We all know them.

I sit there watching it all silently. With a gentle smile on my face. To prove that I’m not in the least scared of what might happen if the bee while flying by my side suddenly decides to drop in for a ‘hi’.

All my focus is on the board. Where my professor is with all his sincerity taking class.

If I hear a ‘ZZZ’ sound, I don't react. It’s just nature. If I hear a few shouts, I don’t react. It’s just humans interacting with nature. Even if the bee does a somersault under my table, I do NOT react. After all, it’s just nature.

When the bee zips past a column, all pairs of hands in that column cover the respective pairs of ears. That’s a survival instinct.

And there is me, wanting to cover my hair. That’s the greatest survival instinct. Is it my problem that bees tend to mistake my frizzy hair for their nest? No.

All this while, when we are having this beautiful interaction with nature, there goes our professor “Don’t worry. Bees die right after they sting a person, so it won’t sting you unless you disturb it”.

That’s all good to hear but does it give it an excuse to not get tangled in my hair? I’m sure it won’t die doing that. But I don’t think I can handle all that interaction.

I love nature but I love my hair too.

--

--

Supritha Kamalanathan
Pitfall

A teen💕... building a small empire with my words :) Exploring the depths of everything life has to offer | curious ponderings | vivid humour