Medium is my new blog platform?

Pito Salas
Pito’s Blog
Published in
1 min readOct 10, 2015

Like many people, I am considering using Medium as my new blog platform. Here are my reasons, so far:

  • The in browser editor is fantastic. It’s super responsive, and creates beautiful output.
  • Supposedly my stuff will get a built-in audience, if it’s any good. Compared to my current blog, www.salas.com which I’ve been less active on of late.
  • I am getting the feeling that personal blog servers are becoming passé. I know for me, I am getting tired of paying Squarespace.com $10 per month for a server that I don’t think I use much. (It’s their business model I suppose :)
  • Truth is that I’ve ported my old blog content across several services over the last 12 or so years. Each time it’s a hassle.
  • People worry that their content will be ‘locked’ into a proprietary server. They want to ‘own’ their writing. I used to worry about that. Now I think it’s a bit precious. Really, you want to save your writing for posterity?
  • If I standardize on Medium, I will not be trying to move my old content here. I won’t even look into whether it’s easy or even possible.
  • What I will have to think about is how to move old content from Squarespace to something free so I don’t have to pay every month as I see it all drift into useless obscurity.

Let’s see how it goes!

--

--

Pito Salas
Pito’s Blog

Products, User Interface, Open Source, Boston, Election Tech, Brandeis, Arlington, Design, BlogBridge