Electrospray Ionization (ESI)

Andrea Detlefsen
Lab Musings
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2017

As we burst from the end of that smothering tunnel;
Though now freed from the duct, we’re contained in a bubble.

It is all I can do but to blink hard and stare,
As I begin to grasp that there’s something more there

I can glimpse through the dome of this bead, although warped,
There are boxes that tower, other things of that sort.

It is arctic in here and the air is a-hum,
Lights are flashing, my heartbeat pounds fast like a drum.

I am blinded and dazed as we soar through midair,
I feel claustrophobic, like I’m trapped in a snare.

There’s a pressure that’s building, a tension in here,
This small droplet contains far too many, too near.

In reaction we all start to rush to the border,
Only to find more chaos and disorder.

At the moment of breaking, to bits we are blown,
Again and again until I am alone.

Now a bit of liquid’s my only protection,
So thin it’s not even enough for convection.

I can see that my time in the light will soon end:
An entrance approaches, a black void impends

Then into the vacuum with great speed I hurtle
Through my veins, courses fear, and my blood, it does curdle.

A force sucks me in like a great beast’s air tract,
Consciousness starts to fade, and then things go black…

Electrospray Ionization: Taylor cone formation
Electrospray Ionization: charged droplets break apart
Electryspray Ionization Source

--

--

Andrea Detlefsen
Lab Musings

Is an undergraduate chemistry major at UPitt, who, after taking one poetry seminar, will be giving her best shot at bringing the two disciplines together.