Leacymck
PIVX
Published in
6 min readNov 1, 2023

--

Introducing PIVX Perspectives:
Engaging conversations with remarkable contributors to the PIVX community. Get ready for insightful dialogues about PIVX’s journey and future. Stay tuned for inspiring stories from various individuals who have played an important role in the PIVX ecosystem.

Our first guest is Jeffrey, PIVX Business Development Lead and a key driving force behind the project.

Can you tell us a little about yourself please?
Hey everyone, my name is Jeffrey, I currently live in South Africa but I have also lived in Indonesia and Singapore. I’m an extremely passionate and energetic person when it comes to digital finance and privacy, advocating for secure and efficient financial solutions in a digital age. My academic journey took me to Singapore where I completed my Bachelors in IT with Distinction. During this time is where I became deeply interested in the world of digital finance, as Singapore is a hub for fintech.

I’ve been a proud member of the PIVX family since early 2017, joining right around the time of the rebrand. It’s been a fortunate journey, allowing me to witness the remarkable growth of the project and actively contribute to its success.

When and why did you get into cryptocurrency?
My cryptocurrency journey goes quite far back and is actually thanks to a stranger, I was part of a social group where people share discounts or deals on servers. Someone wanted to pay on this particular website for a linux VPS but they wanted PayPal. So in return he sent me my first ever Bitcoin and I paid using PayPal. I believe this was back in late 2012 or early 2013. The wallet at the time I used was called MultiBit if I recall correctly. During this time I also experienced so many issues with online payment methods especially since I am from South Africa and many at the time did not provide their services or had lengthy and often privacy invading verification processes. Bitcoin was so fast, I remember being like wow I received this already and didn’t need to register or provide any of my information. My passion grew and I loved superior technology. Sadly I did end up using it as my main payment method for online goods and services lol so could not really enjoy the extreme growth over the years.

When and why did you choose to get involved with PIVX?
Cryptocurrency was starting to go really viral in 2017, It was at this time myself and some online friends were all looking to invest and buy more. The best way to find new cryptocurrencies to invest in at this time was to browse BitcoinTalk. I was lucky enough to find the PIVX post in 2017 on the forum. I read it was a coin dedicated to privacy which piqued my interest. The forum post also provided a Slack invitation link so PIVX ended up being the first cryptocurrency that I joined the official community for. So I guess initially my first finding out about PIVX was for investment purposes however the community was so helpful. I learned so much in just a week there amongst all the “Purple Rain” showers of PIVX tips flying out to everyone. I dedicated so much time that I ended up assisting with the support team by providing technical assistance as well as hosting calls to show people how to trade PIVX.

What do you think sets PIVX apart from other cryptocurrencies in the market?
For me it’s the human touch. PIVX is the only community where anyone can just join in and discuss openly and share ideas with developers, graphics designers, moderators and others from many backgrounds. PIVX may be a privacy coin but it’s extremely human-centric. What I love most is the aim to redefine privacy to its root. That privacy is not for criminals but simply a human right to protect oneself from malicious parties. PIVX makes this privacy option dubbed “SHIELD” completely optional therefore giving the user complete control over how they spend their PIV. PIVX also is a DAO with a treasury guaranteeing constant development and growth therefore PIVX in my opinion has a stable future and is here to secure your digital financial footprint.

How do you envision PIVX’s role in the broader adoption of cryptocurrencies?
PIVX has an ambassador program as well as community members that are introducing PIVX for the first time to many people, many of which will be their first ever crypto and therefore the beginning of their cryptocurrency journey. PIVX sets a benchmark through their meticulous development process that ensures the safety of their blockchain and privacy protocol.

This unwavering commitment to user safety and the protection of their assets sets a noteworthy example for other cryptocurrencies to follow almost like a benchmark. By establishing such high standards, PIVX contributes to the creation of a safer and more secure environment for newcomers, ultimately fostering increased adoption.

Can you share any success stories or notable achievements during your time at PIVX?
Honestly my biggest achievement in my cryptocurrency career with PIVX is getting feedback from our community on their experiences with PIVX and seeing how positive it is. I work as the lead of business development, I secure new listings and integrations. When I come across fellow Pivians enthusiastically sharing how they’ve started accepting PIVX through platforms like NowPayments, booked flights on Travala using PIVX, or found joy in trading on exchanges such as WhiteBit and LBank, it represents the pinnacle of success for me. More recently, learning how PIVX is enabling our community to make a difference by assisting families in need through the purchase of gift cards on Coinsbee is both humbling and inspiring. It’s not just about me, it’s about the collective impact my decisions make and how they can help others. I hope all my work and achievements combined empowers our community and fellow PIVX holders to explore new possibilities with PIVX.

How do you approach building strong relationships with exchange platforms and integrating PIVX into their trading systems?
I begin this first with market research, identifying areas that we lack. For example an exchange that doesn’t require KYC or perhaps provides GBP withdraws to a bank, Once I establish a decent list of exchanges that provide our needs I proceed to contact them.

The most important thing is a mutual understanding of the objective. Once we establish that we would like a relationship that is more than just trading PIVX but actually engaging with both communities and building together then I can proceed to discuss listings. Exchanges and cryptocurrencies work hand in hand in securing the future of Crypto. Not everyone supports centralised exchanges however it is thanks to them that cryptocurrency is thriving and vice versa. If an exchange wants to foster a relationship that involves us potentially collaborating on future marketing events or conferences then this is a good sign. If an exchange simply wants a listing fee and nothing more then that is a red flag in my book.

Obviously I will always advise anyone to do their own research on the exchange before trading however if an exchange is positive and wants to highlight the growth of PIVX and be apart of it, I will do my part by making this known to our communities and giving them the thanks they deserve as well as collaboration on any marketing from our side.

Thank you for reading our PIVX perspectives, stay tuned for more exciting insights and future updates.

--

--

Leacymck
PIVX
Editor for

#PIVX's Content Strategist & Proud Aunty. Founder of Privacy Roundtable.