Lightweight, rock-solid and approachable? Yes, please.

Dmitry Pokidov
pixboost
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2017

Hey there, what are the main characteristics of a good product? Yep, stability and usability. If nothing is working or working like rubbish who would want to use it? Exactly!

I love complex solutions. I really do.

I enjoy digging deep into source code, research layers of software, think about its architecture, and stuff like that. Sometimes, well, to tell the truth, pretty often I would pull sources from github of a project I like to test it and to see what’s inside. Thats for you to understand what the type or software developer I am.

When I’ve started working on Pixboost my first intention was to build as much functionality as I can, because I felt that our team is capable of doing it. And it really is.

Luckily, same time I’ve got into concept of a minimum viable product delivery. It is a very popular concept among startup people. Thinking through it I’ve realised that we definitely should apply this when designing a software architecture for Pixboost.

So, I’ve decided to give this concept a go in terms of a software design. Now we concentrate on making Pixboost the most lightweight and easy to setup solution on the market.

I would not lie to you, it was very hard to chose only 4 endpoints. Which are fit, resize, optimize and asis (to deliver an original image really fast through CDN). Instead of creating numerous endpoints my team and I concentrated on the clean and scalable architecture of our solution.

Choosing Quality over quantity approach was definitely the right decision for Pixboost. Because we ended up with lightweight, clean, rock-solid, fast, easily approachable service. Much faster than we ever expected.

So, for anyone who is designing their first application I would suggest to think about minimum functionality first as it would be easier to keep the code clean, the endpoints in working order, and the first customers happy.

Cheers

--

--

Dmitry Pokidov
pixboost

I’m a CTO of pixboost.com — boosting performance and conversion of your online store.