Crossing in Quarantine

Changing tastes in changing times

Jason Crockett
Pixel Cafe
Published in
6 min readJul 13, 2020

--

I never cared for Animal Crossing.

Not that there was ever anything wrong with it, but I grew up on the likes of Final Fantasy, Zelda, and Sonic. My favorite thing about games was always the story, the world-building, or simply the satisfaction of completing a level. I played games to learn the mysteries of Darth Revan, to explore the world of Azeroth, or to simply challenge my skills in Mario 64. There are specific things I look for in games and Animal Crossing doesn’t really have any of that.

I remember my first introduction to the series, a sleepover at a friend’s place as a young teen. His family had a Gamecube while my family only had an Xbox so much of our time in the sleepover was spent exploring games I hadn’t gotten a chance to play. Animal Crossing seemed interesting enough to mess around with, but I quickly grew bored of it before we swapped to playing Melee for the rest of the night.

Fast forward a few years and I gave the series another shot on the Nintendo DS with the release of Animal Crossing: Wild World. But once again the game just didn’t click with me. The routine seemed simple enough, but there was only so much you could do in a day, and I was the type to marathon through as much of a game as I could before moving on to the next release. Animal Crossing…

--

--

Jason Crockett
Pixel Cafe

Software tester by day, RPG junkie by night. Lover of stories in all forms, but particularly games. Not trying to change the world, just my little corner of it.