2015–08–24: http://pixeldrain.com is now also an official PixelDrain domain name! Also, support for bigger files is coming

Wim Brand
Pixeldrain
Published in
1 min readJan 13, 2016

--

This makes it easier to find the website on search engines. Uploaded files will still automatically get the shorter pixeldra.in domain name though.

I’m currently working on the file size limit. I think it might be better to set a daily limit per IP address, and no limit for single files. I had in mind to set the daily limit to 1 or 2 GB, if I were to set it to 2 GB that means that one individual file could be up to 2 GB in size! But once you’re finished uploading that mega file you won’t be able to upload anything for 24 hours. This also makes it possible to host big videos on pixeldrain, or game installers or whatever. Of course this also makes management of payment options easier too (more money = higher daily limit) but that’s all future talk, I haven’t even thought about how to implement payments yet.

Last weekend I went to LowLands Festival, and it was freaking amazing! Here’s a little video I made of the Chemical Brothers: http://pixeldrain.com/u/1nCEWZ (WARNING, it’s loud!), I had the time of my life! But that also meant I wasn’t able to update pixeldrain for a while, now I got to get back in that rhythm. Also school will be starting next week for me so that will also slow down development a bit (although I’m off every thursday, yay!).

Please tell me what you think in the comments!

--

--