Cutout, Add or Change Background of An Image For Free

Pixlr.com
Pixlr
Published in
1 min readJul 10, 2019

Sometimes I only need one part of a photo to use in my content. Other times, I want to extract part of an image, and change the background to be a simple, plain color. Most people go with either a white or black background, but it’s entirely up to you. Here’s how to achieve both of those effects with Pixlr X. Follow my steps below to cutout, add or change background of an image for free with Pixlr X.

  1. Use the Lasso Tool
  2. For a more precise cutout, use the Drawing Tool
  3. Change the Background Color under Arrange
  4. Click on Save
  5. Choose JPG
A quick GIF of how to lasso and cutout part of a photo and changing the background color.

Watch my video in the link here to get an idea of how I extracted the vehicle from its original background, and changed the placement and color. Check out this tutorial instead if you’d rather remove the background from your image entirely (saving it as PNG format).

Originally published at https://blog.pixlr.com on July 10, 2019.

--

--

Pixlr.com
Pixlr
Editor for

Digital image editing tool for all your creative endeavors.