Have Obsidian Just Changed the Game?

Spatial Thinking is the Future

Neil Hawkesford

--

A surreal and futuristic image of strange shaped balls hanging in the sky over a desert. There are two figures in arab robes walking beneath them
Image from FreePik

Obsidian made a big announcement on March 11th. If you missed it, read on. It may just change the way you work.

Not a Medium member? Don’t worry, you can read this article for free on my blog HERE.

In my previous articles about starting with PKM, I’ve discussed managing information. Now, I want to focus on a method I often use: freeform thinking. A whiteboard or mind-mapping tool is ideal for this. For years, I’ve been a fan of an app called Scapple, made by Literature & Latte, well known for the writing app Scrivener. However, Scapples’ lack of mobile support and stand-alone structure has limited my usage.

Initially, I began using Heptabase’s whiteboard, which I’ve mentioned before. It’s a brilliant tool in many ways and I still use it from time to time, but it can be clunky. Having used a similar app called Scrintal before, I found Heptabase to be better, but still not quite perfect. Both apps need more development.

Then I discovered Obsidian Canvas. I know many people use Obsidian for PKM, but I’m not sure how many fully utilise the Canvas feature. I’m actually using it to write this article.

--

--

Neil Hawkesford

A Thalassophile Writer foolishly sharing his thoughts with the world.