An Afternoon in Union Square Park

Katherine Barner
Places of New York
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2015
New Yorkers from across the city come to Union Square every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday for the Union Square Greenmarket. (Katie Barner/NYU)
The tale end of plum season has hit New York this mid-September. Shoppers enjoy a variety of produce before winter arrives. (Katie Barner/NYU)
Jeff Blair is a member of a New York City sect of Hare Krishnas. “Hare Krishnas are the meanest people ever. They may stop chanting and start throwing drums at you in protest. No I’m kidding, we’re the chillest people ever.” (Katie Barner/NYU)
Thomas Pearce (right), 21, is with a friend who requested to keep his identity private. “Can you please just not take pictures of my dog?” (Katie Barner/NYU)
Pearce is a model from London who just moved to New York. “I was going to go on all these adventures but I’ve just been going to orgies.” (Katie Barner/NYU)
Sages Magica, 23 and from New York, has recently quit his job to start his own skateboarding business. “I quit my real job. I don’t like the authority. I was a bomb-ass sandwich artist at Subway. I have my own company now.” (Katie Barner/NYU)
“I am a God. Do you know what I mean by that? We’re going to learn today.” (Katie Barner/NYU)
“Please stay and capture this. It will be a show unlike anything you’ve ever seen.” (Katie Barner/NYU)
This young man picked out a bouquet of flowers to bring home to Mom. (Katie Barner/NYU)
Another Greenmarket day at Union Square Park has come to a close. It goes to show, you never know who or what you may encounter at Union Square. (Katie Barner/NYU)

--

--