Chachi’s Hot Sausages

San Gennaro Feast, Little Italy, September 18, 2015

Sonja Hansen
Places of New York
4 min readOct 7, 2015

--

Running Chachi’s Sausage Stand at the annual ten-day San Gennaro Feast in Little Italy has been in Joe Lacorazza’s family for 40 years. I spent a hot, late-summer Friday afternoon on the corner of Spring and Mulberry where Joe, his family, and friends run the stand.

It’s 1pm on the corner of Spring and Mulberry. The lunch crowd and a handful of tourists wander from stand to stand; business at Chachi’s Italian sausage stand has been slow so far today.

We don’t have a store front or a restaurant. We just do this because my family has been doing it. When my grandfather came here from Italy he lived here on Mulberry St. It’s his recipe.

Mike Billotto and Officer Fernandez watch as a news reporter is filmed accross the street. Mike, a fire fighter for 18 years, is Joe’s buddy from work.

Officer Fernandez gives directions to tourists as he cheerfully patrols the San Gennaro Feast’s blocked-off intersection during the day. He keeps close to Chachi’s during lunch hours.

Joe Lacorazza cuts rolls and onions during a lull early in the afternoon.

Both my cousin and I met our wives while we were working this stand, during separate Feasts. I met my wife one night as I was cleaning up the stand. She had just arrived on a plane from Las Vegas, where she’s from. She asked if I could make her something to eat. I said ‘Sorry, I`m closed.’ She walked away. Less than 2 minutes later I was asking myself ‘What are you, an asshole?’ I believe in karma, I’ve helped out homeless people with a sausage roll, and I’m not gonna help this girl? So I ran over to her and said I’d make her something. Afterwards I told her, ‘I got my grill dirty again, can I at least take you out for a drink? I’m not gonna try to take you home’ — I’m a polite guy. Now we’re married, we have two kids. They should be here any minute.

Joe admires his wife, Suzy (with the onion ring), and daughters, Olivia (14) and Isabella (12).

Joe hugs his daughter, Olivia.

Mike Billotto shows Isabella and Olivia the ropes. “I’ll probably be able to help a little,” says Isabella (far left), “but I always end up eating a lot of sausages. They’re so good.”

Mike Billotto demonstrates the art of wrapping a sausage and onion hero to Olivia and Isabella.

The Feast gets busy at night. Officer August listens to a passing pedestrian’s questions.

Joe has increased his staff to feed the Friday night rush, with his cousin Anthony and Mike Billotto’s son Mikey.

--

--

Sonja Hansen
Places of New York

The work here was completed for the digital and social media course while completing my MA in journalism at NYU, 2015–2016.