Final Scene — But It’s All About Me!

Tina Overbury
Places Please
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2020

Start from the beginning HERE.

SCENE SEVEN (Final Scene)

Set: It is a bare workshop space. There are 12 chairs in a semi-circle. Beneath each chair is a notebook, a pen, and a few candies. In the centre of the semi-circle is a box of tissues.

Style: Movement based. Physical storytelling. Rhythmic, and poetic.

Invitation to:

Consider the three characters are interchangeable.

Consider choosing an issue of the ‘time’ and infuse it through the script.

Consider exploring a theme where reconciliation is the yearning behind the text.

Characters: The workshop junkies.

They don’t live ‘out there’, they live ‘in here’, in workshop spaces.

SHE: I still read the paper.

THEY: Yeah.

HE: Me too.

SHE: The Healthy Living section is my favourite. You know, too much time with your family can be… (overlapping)…hard on your heart.

THEY: (overlapping) Style — a short skirt speaks more about your inner strength…than your workout regime.

HE: (overlapping) Leisure — taking downtime, self-care, getting in touch with your inner child.

SHE: Oh please.

THEY: You’re pathetic.

Pause to write in their journals

SHE: Read the Seven Habits of…?

THEY: Yup.

HE: Me too.

SHE: Women Who are at Home in the Wild?

THEY: Read it.

HE: (groan) Why? Men Retreat and Women Run?

SHE: Boring.

THEY: What does that say about you?

SHE: Awakened and Enlightened?

THEY: Snooze.

HE: Useless.

SHE: I’m okay, you’re okay?

HE and THEY: As if.

SHE: Following the Artist?

HE: Drumming for Men.

THEY: The Prophecy.

SHE: John Bragshawl — ALL OF THEM…?

COLLECTIVELY: ooooooooh

SHE: Therapy for six years.

HE: Counselling for eight.

THEY: Nothing for Nobody. You’re both fucked.

SHE: Last month I fasted for ten days.

THEY: Juiced for three week.

HE: I have a personal trainer.

SHE: Herbalist.

THEY: Naturopath.

HE: Spiritual Guide.

Movement piece with the journals. They begin by writing furiously. They are desperate for ‘the answer’ in each other’s journal. They end in a group stare with each other. Moving eye to eye, from face to face, never landing in one, continuously moving the journal between each other while not watching. By the end they each have a different journal.

They look down and start to read.

Someone starts laughing and they all start laughing at what is in each book.

Panic sweeps and they take their books back and sit down in their chairs.

SHE: I was locked up.

THEY: I’ll never get there. I just know it.

SHE: Abandoned. I was abandoned…but I chose it.

THEY: It’s so fucking hard.

SHE: I made it happen. I did.

THEY: Maybe I could try…

SHE: I am ultimately responsible for my own happiness. And my own sadness. I am.

THEY: I am.

HE: I am.

SHE: I

THEY: I

SHE: I

HE: You’re not supposed to be here. Don’t take it personally. It’s not about you. It’s just… you walked in by mistake. You don’t have to stay. It’s really not about you. It’s about.

THEY: Me.

SHE: Me.

HE: Me. I’m sor…

THEY: Pfffffff….

SHE: No you’re not.

HE: But I am. I really am. Can I talk to you?

SCENE.

There is a festival in Vancouver called: Theatre Under the Gun. In it, writers and actors come together to write, rehearse, stage and perform a one act play in 48 hours. At the time I wrote this, I was heavily involved in personal development work and the character of ‘the workshop junkie’ arrived. I have always loved physical theatre, clown work, mask and poetic dialogue. This piece is my exploration of storytelling this way.

And yes, we did stage the show. It was performed at the Vancouver East Cultural Centre a very long time ago with: Cyndi Mason, Judi Closkey and a guy named Ryan… oh man… I couldn’t tell you his last name. We met at a workshop.

For real.

TinaO is a storyteller, performer, and a professional listener who works with narrative and story structure as a vehicle for human connection. Her work is rooted in Myth, Mysticism, and the practice of personal faith. She is the founder of Live Your Best Story, a weekend retreat of deep listening held on Bowen Island, BC, Canada and is the voice and story behind TinaOLife. Tina is a proud associate of PowHERhouse Impact Media Group where she listens and supports the ‘stories’ of whole and integrated leaders of tomorrow.

--

--

Tina Overbury
Places Please

Story Artist with TinaOLife, Author Coaching with The Writer’s Adventure, Expressive Arts Therapy Student at Winnipeg's Expressive Arts Therapy Institute.