From the CIA to CEO: 5 Lessons From a Circuitous Career

Elizabeth Cholawsky
Plan B Success
4 min readAug 3, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of Mediocre Studio via unsplash.

I grew up ambitious. My first career goal was to be the president of the US, but I was told that girls weren’t allowed to be president. So, I decided to be president of a company.

My interests quickly led me to a career in computer modeling and statistics… a skill set that did lead me to work for the government, though not how I pictured it.

I was hired by the CIA as a “quantitative methodologist,” one of the only titles I’ve had I like as much as CEO.

But I didn’t get there overnight, and I had plenty of setbacks along the way. I’d like to share some of the most important things I’ve learned, because I couldn’t have gotten to where I am today without them.

  1. Don’t get hung up on titles

I’ve seen executives pass on jobs that could be a huge stepping stone just because the title isn’t what they consider “the right title” for their progress and professional growth.

For example, I was working for a speech recognition as a vice president, but I wanted to get into a bigger company with better recognition in the market. Digital Sound offered me a director of product role, and even though on paper it looked like a step back, it didn’t hurt my career — actually it helped me because it was a broader role, and it proved a broader set of skills.

Career paths aren’t always linear. If you’re hung up or feeling stuck, don’t constrain yourself by looking for “the right title.” There’s no such thing.

2. A broad range of experience is good

Don’t worry about having too many interests or making changes in your career.

For example, going from the CIA, to programmer, to customer success and digital marketing roles, my career path would not be considered “typical” for many CEOs. I did worry about jumping around a lot, but over years, following my interests as they developed organically, I gained lots of substantive knowledge and built up skills that served me well.

Many professionals excel at what they do — whether that’s a firmware designer or data analyst, but you need to cultivate a lot of things. Especially if you want to be a CEO.

3. Not all companies, big or small, are created equally

Even if they are profitable, some companies just aren’t well run.

For example, I’ve seen executives take “prestige jobs” because it looks like a step in the right direction, but that’s not necessarily right for everyone. I learned this the hard way. I’ve worked at a few large public companies, and it was nuts. After working at Move.com. I vowed never to work at a public company again, but then I got recruited by Citrix, another enterprise-level outfit. It was a great offer, and they twisted my arm, so I went to work for them. I was relieved that the experience was entirely different than how I thought it would be, I shed my preconceived notions and got to work!

4. Get fired … at least once …

At certain times in your career, it’s important to push the envelope and see where it breaks. There’s a caveat here: You should only get fired for the right reason.

For example, when I was a young executive at ValueClick, I had a lot of conviction. ValueClick grew by acquisition, and absorbed lots of companies in the media space. I felt strongly that ValueClick could be a major force by consolidating the brands, and as the VP of marketing I was adamant that we had to do this. I was given enough leash to have control over multiple entities and I gradually brought the power of the brands together. Unfortunately for me, it made the CEO uncomfortable because he felt the individual logo’s CEOs were changing loyalties to the conglomerate rather than himself, the overall CEO. And I got fired!

It was a valuable experience in my career. Too often, people are timid or ashamed, so they don’t vocalize what they have learned in their experience. Getting fired shouldn’t be something to hide in the closet, it can be a formative event that shapes the future of your career.

5. Ask for help!

There’s always somebody you can discuss important decisions with, even if you have to make the decision yourself. Whether I’ve sought out advice throughout my career, or haven’t, it’s made a difference.

For example, I was working for a Boston-based company called AI Corp that merged with a company on the west coast. I wasn’t happy about the merger, but instead of asking anybody for help, I made the decision to leave for a small company called Open Books. I didn’t take a step back for any due diligence. Open Books ended up being a flash in the pan, while AI Corp still had lots of opportunity ahead of it. If I had consulted my network, I don’t think I would have made this decision.

Remember: When you’re named a CEO, everybody wants you to succeed. People really do want you to succeed, so don’t be afraid to use them for help!

Elizabeth is an established executive leader in the technology industry with a strong focus on growing successful SaaS-based businesses.

Prior to joining HG Insights, Elizabeth was the CEO of Support.com (SPRT), where she transformed the business from relying solely on outsourced services revenue to selling its own SaaS product that efficiently ran large contact centers.

Elizabeth has also held executive positions at Citrix (CTXS), Valueclick, and other innovative technology companies, in leadership roles spanning general management, marketing, product management, global client services, and contact centers.

Click here for more information about CEO Elizabeth Cholawsky and to connect with her via social media.

--

--

Elizabeth Cholawsky
Plan B Success

I am an executive leader in the technology industry with a strong focus on growing successful #SaaS-based businesses. #Citrix, #Support.com, #Stanform alum