Use built-in JavaScript inspections in RubyMine and WebStorm to avoid bugs

Wiktor Mociun
Planet Arkency
Published in
1 min readDec 8, 2015

In last day, I started using RubyMine once again for my Ruby/JavaScript programming. It lets me plug one of my favourite tools for JavaScript development, which is EsLint. It not only let me keep consistent code style but let me catch some subtle code mistakes.

I love errors provided by EsLint in my editor. However, there’s much more we can do here. I did not notice before, but JetBrains editors have built-in JavaScript code quality analysis tools with lots of different, interesting settings.

There are much, much more settings…

We can make our RubyMine show error in the file if we left debugger statement somewhere in a code. It can also mark some code with a warning if it is detected as unreachable. These are often subtle mistakes and it’s really handy to catch them early to save a lot of development time.

All code inspections can be tweaked directly in RubyMine/WebStorm settings. Just go to Preferences > Editor > Inspections.

--

--