Casting An Uncertain Future

Lost Soul Astrology
Planetary Arts Journal
3 min readJan 6, 2024
Photo by Robson Hatsukami Morgan on Unsplash

For those who’ve been reading my stuff for a while now, you’ll see my occasional mention of my life as a perpetual medical patient. Because I’m always attending appointments, many of which are high stakes to me, I find myself casting charts for these appointments and cross-referencing these future moments in time against my natal and progressed charts.

The problem with this is that today’s medical system is overwhelmed. With how many appointments I’m making, I can expect some cancelations — if not due to my own health, then others’. Plus, wait times for appointments can be up to several months, so I’m on myriad waitlists for sooner openings. When I seize those opportunities, the charts change drastically. You truly never know what’s going to happen, even as an astrologer.

I’d initially had appointments with two different physicians of the same specialty, seeing which one I could get in with sooner by using both the initial appointment and the subsequent waitlist. It was April 2024 versus June 2024, but I’d rather the physician linked to the latter. I was calling twice weekly at the holidays for any cancelations, to no avail. But then April 2024 moved up to January!

The chart for this new appointment wasn’t anything special. If anything, it was annoying as Mercury and Neptune were square — which is much like when my last appointment regarding these matters were, which delayed my diagnosis and treatment due to needing a referral to another specialty. A Mercury-Neptune square can speak to confusion, false hope, lies, or a lack of focus. Just yuck when I need answers, if you ask me.

But, getting closer to seeing this physician revealed they weren’t even in my insurance’s network. So, I called the other physician’s office once more. Luck (and persistence) brought my June appointment to February 1, when many a transit would be occurring in my chart that were more damning than mundane.

The reason I wasn’t connecting with that first chart was because that wasn’t going to be the day I saw this next physician. Now, of course I see physicians at bad times all the time! I’m quite desperate, so I will usually take what I can get, when I can get it. I just look up the astrology after the fact, if not to just prepare myself for the appointment and get myself in check (in case I’m feeling vulnerable or volatile).

And that’s much like how we should approach astrology in general. Instead of revolving our lives around it, we ought to incorporate it into our plans. However, astrology remains a symbolic language of potential, where we must remain open to possibilities versus biased by whatever flavorings we foresee in the sky.

Much like life itself, astrology isn’t so black-and-white, either. There may be days that aren’t inherently good or bad, but somewhere in-between with positive and negative moments. Today my kids made friends at the library, but I was using my cane to get around and was too tired to put myself out there. Thankfully, my daughter did the talking for me and numbers between us moms were exchanged anyhow. Today’s astrology supports my fatigue, yet openness for socialization. Imagine that!

Is it that the future is uncertain, or can we certainly predict a positive outcome? Do all things work for good? These are spiritual/philosophical ponderings that we need to consider when we receive our messages from the universe, because it’s not so much what the message says, but how it is received.

Like what you’re reading? Clap, follow, and consider subscribing to Medium and its email notifications to continue supporting work like mine.

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER: Astrology is both an art and an inexact science and should always be subject to interpretation due to its human influence. In this way, astrology is best utilized for entertainment purposes only. Take what you want and leave the rest, but never replace sound advice from a variety of skilled professionals — including and especially of the medical and financial trades — with astrology and its astrologers. In case of a medical or psychiatric emergency, please contact your local authorities.

--

--

Lost Soul Astrology
Planetary Arts Journal

Mundane Horoscopes for All Zodiac Signs. Editor of the Planetary Arts Journal: Accepting new writers. Connect at https://linktr.ee/cazimimedia