Giving Thanks for Evolution

I am awake now.

The dream I had last night

Took me back through the assembled code of my evolution

To my point of origin

The one I share with you all

To the spark of life ignited on this planet.

Nature came forth.

Programmed for development

It thrived against the odds

Meeting every challenge as an opportunity.

It adapted, adopted, mutated, selected, cast aside and crawled forth.

From the core of the planet heat flowed into the ocean

Germinating the cell giving motion to life.

Endowed with the power to transform

The source code allowed it to diverge into a multitude of lifeforms.

As the heated vapor rose to the heavens

From the sky the water dropped on the dirt

Germinating the seed that grew into a tree

From the tree came the forest.

On this planet where I was born as a human,

Where I sleep in the unconscious womb of divine enlightenment

I have awakened to the super-conscious program embedded in life.

My dream tells me what is hidden below the surface of Existence.

Mortality is my friend.

Life is tenacious and pervasive.

All is temporary so as to allow all to evolve, forever.

Even a moment of life is an inflection point

A chance to awaken to the gift endowed in us all.

Life is an ever-spiraling journey

Hurling toward evolving consciousness of life’s awe-inspiring grandeur.

I am awake now

To my opportunities, failures and advances.

I am awake now

To the ever-challenging course of evolution.

I am awake now

To the undeniable cosmic program embedded in life.

But just barely, I confess,

Just enough to discern

That there’s so much more to go.

Just enough to see a glimpse of the scope of evolution

Beneath the surface of its biological manifests.

Just enough to give thanks for evolution.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Harvey Kraft is the author of the award-winning epic The Buddha from Babylon and the recent visionary sci-fi/fantasy e-novel The Waker: Portal of Perfect Light.

For more information visit the book website.

--

--