Guest Voice: We Marched. Now, We Defy

Dawn Laguens
Planned Parenthood Action Voices
3 min readJan 23, 2017

#IDEFY Ignorance & Hate by Standing with Planned Parenthood

Natalie M. is a Planned Parenthood patient who lives in New York. We’re proud to have her, and millions more, joining our fight to defy shame and hate.

This weekend across the country, we saw so many people stand up to defy hatred and intolerance by participating in the Women’s March. Record numbers of women, men, and young people came out in support of reproductive health and freedom in solidarity with marches happening around the nation.

After the historic march, we celebrated the 44th anniversary of Roe vs. Wade, in which people across the country succeeded in securing our right to abortion. 44 years later, it is unacceptable that we are now fighting to keep abortion safe and legal for all.

Planned Parenthood has always had my back. In the summer of 2014 my birth control failed. I had been on the Depo-Provera shot for over two years with no problem until I found out I was pregnant in between them.

I want to be a mother someday but at 21 years old, I was not ready. I called many abortion providers but the procedure was out of my price range. Finally, after seeing flyers in my neighborhood, I made an appointment at Planned Parenthood and they were able to see me right away and even offered financial help. They spoke to me about all my options and were really knowledgeable, which made me feel like I was receiving high-quality and compassionate care.

And even after the procedure, they were helpful. They made me feel safe, and that they cared about my progress and gave me advice on what to do afterwards.

Having an abortion doesn’t make us bad people, and Planned Parenthood treats everyone without judgment. They allow young women and men to make their own decisions about their body, and make them feel safe and encouraged. Additionally, their doors are open to everyone — regardless of age, insurance status, or ability to pay. If it had not been for Planned Parenthood, I would have had nowhere else to go, and I wouldn’t have the life I have today.

I have been going to PPNYC for almost two years now after my abortion because I was so impressed with their services and staff. In addition to fighting to keep abortion legal and safe, Planned Parenthood also does so much more to further reproductive freedom. I know I can rely on them for condoms, birth control, STI testing and treatment, cancer screenings, pregnancy tests, and more. Planned Parenthood also fights for sex ed that is comprehensive, inclusive of all identities and sexualities. They know that some of us have sex and some of us don’t, but that when we do, we need it to be safe and consensual and without shame or stigma.

Yesterday, millions of people across the country marched for reproductive rights and health care, but we know the fight is bigger than that. We are fighting for a world where everyone is able to live freely from discrimination in all forms.We defy the racism and xenophobia that both stands in the way of people of color and immigrants ability to access health care and also makes them subject to ignorance and hate.

As Planned Parenthood gears up for a fight, they need us now more than ever. After all, as young people, we make up the majority — 70% — of their patient base. For 100 years, they have had our back and now it’s our time to have theirs.

That’s why, on the anniversary of Roe v. Wade, I’m joining the #IDEFY movement to defy hate and ignorance, and demand reproductive freedom. Together we build the future we want — one free from stigma and discrimination in all forms. #IDEFY is your chance to stand with us and fight for the future you want.

Defiance is in your hands. Join us in a nationwide act of defiance by lifting up your voice to share your support for reproductive freedom, and all of the other issues you care about that will help build a better country for all people.

Go to Defynow.org to learn more about all of ways you can get involved and stand with Planned Parenthood.

--

--

Dawn Laguens
Planned Parenthood Action Voices

EVP of Planned Parenthood Federation of America @PPFA and the Planned Parenthood Action Fund @PPact. NOLA native, mom of triplets, lover of jalapenos.