Thespi-honest #10: Finding Neverland

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Published in
3 min readJun 2, 2020

Certified theatre nerd here! During a 24 hour trip to NYC, our second and final show was Finding Neverland.

Finding Neverland

Where: Lunt-Fontanne Theatre

When: December 2015 & October 2016

Favorite Song(s): All That Matters, Neverland, and Stronger

Who doesn’t love a musical about a beloved story coming to life? In this case, J.M. Barrie finding inspiration for Peter Pan through a widow and her children. Finding Neverland was first a movie that came out in the early aughts with Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet. I liked the movie when I saw it, but I did not have any strong connection to the source material.

Our 24 hour NYC trip was inspired because we wanted to see Spring Awakening. I was with theatre kids, so we had to pick another show for the trip. There were a lot of shows to pick from (including the original cast of Hamilton, but let’s not get started on that story). Finding Neverland was recommended to me by my cousin and a friend. They both raved about the show and said it was emotional and beautiful.

I was very impressed! I saw the show both on Broadway and during their tour. I think the production was very well done. The book and most of the music were solid. I think some of the scenes felt disjointed from one another during Act One. The book had some comedic one-liners and was more cohesive in Act Two. The score had some great ballads and production numbers, but a lot of the songs did not move the plot forward. The stage magic is probably the most memorable aspect of the musical, including a moving and beautiful scene where Sylvia dies and the wind starts blowing and glitter shimmers throughout the stage.

Finding Neverland had a very strong cast. I think the standout was Laura Michelle Kelly, who played Sylvia Llewelyn Davies. Her ballad in the middle of Act 1, All That Matters showed off her impressive vocals. She also had great chemistry with her children and J.M. Barrie. She is the emotional heart of the piece, and she delivered. Matthew Morrison played J.M. Barrie. He was excellent! He fully committed to the character; he has some powerful vocals and good acting beats as a man being pulled in different directions. The Act One finale, Stronger, let Morrison show off his vocals, and the production value of that song was beautiful to look at. Carolee Carmello was excellent as Mrs. du Maurier, the stern mother of Sylvia.

I enjoyed this musical but looking back, Finding Neverland feels very conventional. I do listen to a handful of the songs from the show often, and I think the story itself is beautiful. The musical was marketed as a family show, and I wonder what it would have looked like if it dove deeper into the adult relationships.

--

--

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Editor for

English teacher, theatre enthusiast, coffee drinker, avid reader, and Italian.