Thespi-honest #3: Catch Me if You Can

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2020

Certified theatre nerd here! Ask me about almost any show and I guarantee I can give you some facts or opinions about it. With all of this knowledge and memory I’m going to deep dive into every show I’ve seen specifically in NYC and maybe adding some memorable tours and other performances. I’ve been talking about my first trip to NYC and the final show I saw was…

Catch Me if You Can

Where: Neil Simon Theatre

When: August 2011

Favorite Song(s): Live in Living Color, Goodbye, and Fly, Fly Away

On our final day in NYC, I wanted to see one more show. My family had enough theatre after the Priscilla debacle, so I was going to see this show solo. There were so many shows to chose from that year, but the first show I wanted to see was Catch Me if You Can, so I decided to go with that. I loved Hairspray and this show was written by the same composers Shaiman and Wittman, and I wanted to see Aaron Tveit and Norbert Leo Butz in a musical. I am glad that I ended up seeing the show when I did because the show closed shortly after and the tour came nowhere near where I live.

Catch Me if You Can is based on a true story and was also made into a movie. The musical uses a framing device of a 60s variety show where Frank Abagnate Jr. is the host telling his own story as a con man and the detective who was after him in.

When I think back on this show what sticks out was the music and the dancing. The music is jazz-inspired and was a departure from the type of music I was used to from musicals. The full orchestra is onstage for the full show. The ensemble was great and well utilized. This is a very traditional musical with big dance numbers and the cast delivered.

In my opinion, there were three standouts from this show: Aaron Tveit, Norbert Leo Butz, and Kerry Butler. Aaron’s voice is so smooth and sounds effortless in everything he sings. His acting in this show was also excellent. Frank has to be both confident and vulnerable and Aaron portrayed it so well. The whole show is framed around Frank Abagnate Jr. and Aaron Tveit’s stamina was incredible to watch. Norbert Leo Butz’s performance was perfection. His number in the middle of Act 1 was given a standing ovation the day I saw it. Finally, Kerry Butler has a killer 11 o’clock number called Fly, Fly Away that is both beautiful and heartbreaking.

I think this show is underrated, especially considering how great the music is. This completes my first trip to NYC. After this trip, I solidified my need to see and do theatre as much as I possibly could.

Again living my best life that day.

--

--

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Editor for

English teacher, theatre enthusiast, coffee drinker, avid reader, and Italian.