Thespi-honest #4: Sister Act

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2020

Certified theatre nerd here! Ask me about almost any show and I guarantee I can give you some fact or opinion on it. With all of this love for theatre, I’m going to deep dive into every show I’ve seen specifically in NYC. When I was in high school I was in marching band and we went on a trip every year. Senior year we went to NYC and saw a musical which was…

Sister Act

Where: Broadway Theatre

When: October 2011

Favorite Song: Raise Your Voice

For this trip, we were only in the city for two days. We saw Sister Act on the after a very long first day. I remember being so exhausted but excited to see another Broadway show.

Sister Act is based on a movie about a lounge singer who is forced to join a convent after being placed in a witness protection program. The movie is fantastic! I saw this show two times, on Broadway and again about a year later on tour. To be 100% honest, I didn’t remember much about the musical. I had to reintroduce myself to the material. All the songs from the movie were replaced with original songs written by Alan Menken. It’s very baffling because you would think that a hit movie with an amazing composer would be a smash, but it was not very memorable. The musical made a lot of changes to the original, but they were not different enough to make an impact.

I will say it is a fun show and the best parts are when the nuns are singing. I also remember a very rousing double-quick change. This musical was a star vehicle for Patina Miller who played Deloris Van Cartier. She has a powerful voice and a fearless stage presence.

--

--

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Editor for

English teacher, theatre enthusiast, coffee drinker, avid reader, and Italian.