Thespi-honest #6: Pippin

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Published in
4 min readApr 27, 2020

Certified theatre nerd here! I guarantee I can give you some fact or opinion on it about almost any show. I’m going to deep dive into every show I’ve seen in NYC and some memorable tours. Pippin is one of my favorite productions.

Pippin

Where: Music Box Theatre

When: August 2013

Favorite Song(s): Morning Glow, Corner of the Sky, and On the Right Track

After my freshman year of college, my grandma and I went on a trip to NYC. I was so excited to go back and see more shows! I picked the three shows I wanted to see, and first on my list was the 2013 revival of Pippin.

Pippin is about a troupe of performers, led by the mysterious and charismatic Leading Player, telling the story of Pippin, a young prince who longs to find passion and adventure in his life. Pippin tries a myriad of activities to feel like he has a purpose. He goes to war and wants to fight tyranny. The Leading Player convinces him to kill his father, the king, and take over the throne. Realizing he is not suited for that, the Leading Player brings his father back to life. Pippin falls in love with Catherine, a widow with a young son, and struggles to decide whether he should settle down and pursue a peaceful and simple life or continue to make magic with the troupe of performers.

A few things excited me about this production. Directing has been a part of the theatre I loved and wanted to pursue. When looking into shows to see, I noticed most of the directors on Broadway were men. Diane Paulus was one of two female directors. She won two Tony Awards for directing Pippin and Hair. I knew I had to see one of her shows! Secondly, the concept of this circus-inspired production was fascinating. How are they going to make this show look like a circus? Finally, this show had an all-star cast, and it won the Best Revival Tony Award. I had to see this production!

This show did not disappoint. As I watched the show, I felt like I was witnessing literal magic happening onstage. A circus comes to life in front of your face. The special effects and stunts, done by Gypsy Snider, were so incredible. Bob Fosse originally choreographed Pippin. The choreography in this production, done by Chet Walker, was slick. The book of the show is great, and of course, the music is fabulous!

Matthew James Thomas was a great Pippin! He has such a clear tone to his voice. His Pippin was super earnest and had a boyish innocence that made you root for him. I was excited to see Patina Miller in a show again! She was a fierce Leading Player. The Leading Player is usually a man, but it was such a cool take to see a woman in the role. Not only is her voice insane, but she was a tremendous dancer! The Leading Player influences Pippin throughout the show as a narrator, and their chemistry needs to be strong. It was! Rachel Bay Jones was funny and sweet as Catherine. She brought tremendous heart and simplicity to this extravagant show. One of the best performances was Andrea Martin as Berthe. I heard before seeing this show to “just wait” for her song. What I was not expecting was to see her singing upside down on a trapeze. She blew me away and received a standing ovation in the middle of the show.

The ending of the show is powerful and has stuck with me over the years. The Leading Player encourages Pippin to go out in a blaze of glory, to jump into the fire and be remembered forever. Pippin refuses. He realizes that his life does not need to be glamourous to be happy. He chooses to be with Catherine and live a simple life. The Leading Player gets angry. She takes everything away: the set, costumes, lights, music, and the troupe. Then she leaves. Everyday life can be meaningful if you chose to be extraordinary in it.

This was such a good production! I love going into a revival where it is not just a regurgitation of the original. Pippin felt new and fresh. I think it’s a strength if new interpretations can be made from an older show.

I enjoy this show! If you get a chance to see a production of Pippin, I highly recommend it!

--

--

Nicolette Navarro
Play On
Editor for

English teacher, theatre enthusiast, coffee drinker, avid reader, and Italian.