Ascenders’ Log #11

Ascenders
PlayAscenders
Published in
4 min readNov 3, 2022

Even though Halloween is over, we kept on hearing creepy skeleton sounds across the office. As we didn’t know what it was at first, people got a bit scared of what it could be… Fortunately, we figured out it was a new transmission! Not from a creepy skeleton, but from one of the OG employees. The transmission of this week is from our Design Lead: Skeletorrent!

Who is this?
Skeletorrent! Nyaaagh! (That’s the sound that Skeletor makes, in case you were not aware). I’m the design lead and one of the first to join Studio Red. And I’m one hundred percent calcium and bones!

What got you into games?
I think my dad poured games into my face when I was young, many years ago. Ever since then, I would draw art or design levels on paper… Until I discovered the magic of level editors, which started all the way with The Incredible Machine (TIM) on MS-DOS. That later went on to level editors that came with games such as Warcraft 2, Quake, Half-Life, Counter-Strike, Far Cry… The list goes on. If the game came with a level editor, I have probably used it at one point!

What is your role within the Ascenders team?
I’m the design lead, which primarily makes me responsible for keeping the design team happy, but also for making the gameplay play great and making it feel good. I communicate a lot within the team with the programmers and artists to make sure that everyone knows what is going on and has their priorities straight. We need to know problems before they become big problems!

What about your usual day-to-day work?
My day usually involves a lot of talking, catching up, and making sure that everyone on the (design) team can do their job. There is a lot of problem-solving which has to be addressed in an efficient way that ensures it does not create a lot of work for us later down the road. A big part of that is documentation since everything has to be written down in our Wiki, which is our main source of information for the team. Finally, I also work in Unreal Engine, where I do all kinds of work such as level design, prototyping, balancing, and playtesting!

Most enjoyable thing within the job?
As corny as it sounds, I love working with people! The team is amazing, professional, and a blessing to work with. I love seeing different work come together and then, as a team, make it even better! Dial it up to 110%!

I’m also a sucker for juice, which is a term we use for how ‘punchy’ something feels. You notice that I use the word feel a lot? A lot of design work is about ‘how does it feel’? I enjoy that a lot, making the game feel good for players! That’s you!

What are you looking forward to most with Ascenders?
The combat, definitely! We’re working hard on making the combat awesome and of a high quality that you can all enjoy in your own way! I can’t wait to see you guys battle your way through the dangers of Ascension!

Is there something you can’t wait to share with the community?
The skills! Hah, well, I think there are some cool videos coming.. But I don’t think I can say much about that! But you didn’t hear it from me. Did I mention the skills?

If you could add any feature to Ascenders, what would it be and why?
Hookshots! Definitely hookshots! They’re awesome and they make you go around fast. And everyone knows that going fast is good.

Anything you want to ask the community?
What crazy design would you like to see in Ascenders? Also hookshots, like me? Everyone loves hookshots. Right guys? Right?

Any final words of wisdom to share with the community?
Repeat after me in a wise old man’s accent:
Always listen to your feelings! (If you don’t say it in that voice it’s less effective. 100% guaranteed.)

Bonus question we also asked the community: If you were among the first to board the Seedship, make the leap to the distant galaxy and you could only bring one item, what would it be and why?
A slow-motion camera! Have you considered how many cool movies you can make in zero gravity *and* in slow-motion? The possibilities are endless!

--

--

Ascenders
PlayAscenders

Ascenders is a sci-fantasy, open world action RPG with a fully decentralized, player driven economy. Useful links: https://linktr.ee/playascenders