Ascenders’ Log #7

Ascenders
PlayAscenders
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2022

There has been a faint smell of Popcorn filling the office over the past few days; which originated from the transmitter. Another story came in, and this time around it’s from our CTO; Robbie!

Who is this?

I’m Robbie, and given the company Pokémon codename requirement, I checked outside the office window and first caught Skitty, so Skitty the kitty it is.

What got you into games?

At a young age my grandfather, who was in banking, foresaw computers taking over the world. So I ended up with this large TRS-80 computer manual. Once I showed I had read it all, which took a while, I was given the real deal. From that point onwards my grandfather never understood what I was doing. Besides programming games on this, the analog joystick with the game Popcorn was an all time favourite, which happens to be a clone of a good old Atari arcade game called Avalanche…

What is your role within the Ascenders team?

Whipping the UE5 beast to do magical things for us all. Building the big online world has a lot of moving parts, but we have a great team so it becomes more exciting with every week.

What about your usual day-to-day work?

Between managing my caffeine level, jumping between meetings, and avoiding the temptation of a Kapsalon at lunch, then it’s time to get some coding done!

Most enjoyable thing within the job?

Avoiding a nerf gun point-blank headshot from Will the Dev Herder. Besides surviving unwounded, seeing some new game features come to life is what I love most.

What are you looking forward to most with Ascenders?

We have quite a bold roadmap ahead for the world of Ascenders, with a lot of exciting surprises along the way. How to make the most of the streaming mega-scanned world, and what is built within it, I cannot wait to be exploring the lands of the Alien world with you all.

Is there something you can’t wait to share with the community?

Being a sci-fi fan, I have been excited to see the concepts develop around the seed ships that will form the core of the amazing cities.

Any final words of wisdom to share with the community?

We need you!

--

--

Ascenders
PlayAscenders

Ascenders is a sci-fantasy, open world action RPG with a fully decentralized, player driven economy. Useful links: https://linktr.ee/playascenders