Ascenders’ Log #8

Ascenders
PlayAscenders
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2022

A lot of buzzing and whirring was happening alongside the bitter smell of coffee filling the office. However, nobody was brewing coffee. It was coming from… the transmitter?

Well, members of our Discord would instantly know who this blog is from, our Community Manager, Brum_!

Who is this?
*GM*
*Hi Dear, how’s going?*
Hello? Oh hi! I’m Brum_, the Community Manager for Ascenders, and most of you must have spoken to me in the past. I’m one of the people guarding the holy halls of Discord, while making sure everybody is having a good time.
*good night baby*
*WEN WL!?!?!?!!111!1!*

What got you into games?
From a young age, I got in touch with games through a neighbor. He showed me around and taught me the ropes. Growing up with games like Curse of Monkey Island, the original Tomb Raider, The Neverhood and Riven. But I think I sank most of my time into Roller Coaster Tycoon! From then on, I was always interested in technology, and at some point found out there was an actual game dev course about to start in the Netherlands! I joined in, and worked my way through as a programmer / producer. Couple years down the road, and a detour working in Marketing, I receive a message from our Dev Herder Will, asking if I want to join in as a community manager; which I gladly accepted.

What is your role within the Ascenders team?
My day to day business is community and marketing management. I stay in touch with the dev team, follow their deadlines (and struggles), point and laugh and try to steal their best content to share online. Meanwhile, I am also in touch with the partners and investors to make sure we bring their communities the latest updates and set up giveaways.

What about your usual day-to-day work?
Responding to ‘Good Mornings’ with stupid gifs and making sure everybody remains happy with the lack of content we’re able to push during this bear market. Also drinking a lot of coffee (as I’m perpetually waiting for it ☕)

What are you looking forward to most with Ascenders?
What am I not looking forward to? I can’t wait to start sharing the teasers we have lined up for you 👀, to jump into the game, play around with all you guys and take down those alien bastards, BECAUSE THIS IS OUR LAND NOW!

Most enjoyable thing within the job?
Interacting with all you lot ❤! There have been a few people in our channels that I’ve had the pleasure of talking more with, and you are all starting to feel like my (work) family. Because of this, I truly can’t wait for the time where we can share all the glorious goodies that we’re working on in the office here.

Is there something you can’t wait to share with the community?
Simply… everything… but here’s one:

Any final words of wisdom to share with the community?
Good morning!

--

--

Ascenders
PlayAscenders

Ascenders is a sci-fantasy, open world action RPG with a fully decentralized, player driven economy. Useful links: https://linktr.ee/playascenders