“Where there are human beings, there is creativity” — Ana Guigui

The actress, writer, and musician talks about creativity in quarantine.

Julia Stier
Players, Performers, & Portrayers

--

Next up in our solo show series is Ana Guigui. Her “pandemic cabaret,” titled, Where Do We Go From Here? is a sometimes comedic, sometimes dramatic collection of original songs (written by Guigui) that capture the ups and downs of life in quarantine.

Guigui shared with Players, Performers, & Portrayers a bit about her songwriting process, upcoming solo shows, and gave some great tips for how people (artists and non-artists alike) can begin to write their own show!

Can you tell us a bit about your show ‘Where Do We Go From Here?’

I have been feeling incredibly creative since the beginning of this pandemic quarantine. I am a professional singer and pianist, and voice professor and have been teaching online since March of 2020. Given I’m working from home, I am close to my piano on a daily basis and in a safe, quiet environment. So, anytime I had a song idea, I would sit down at the piano. I started writing songs each week without any agenda, and it turned into this cabaret musical! Some songs are comedic, some are dramatic, and I wrote in various styles and genres, which was really interesting to me. I…

--

--

Julia Stier
Players, Performers, & Portrayers

Julia Stier is an LA-based actress and playwright. She is also the creator and editor of Players, Performers, & Portrayers. juliastier.com