Is Spider-Man PS4/PS5 the Pinnacle of Superhero Gaming?

Jackson Dylan
Playthrough Perspective
3 min readOct 12, 2023
Photo by Jean-Philippe Delberghe on Unsplash

With Spider-Man 2 releasing shortly, I thought it would be a great time to revisit its predecessor, Spider-Man, mostly called Spider-Man PS4 or Spider-Man PS5 depending on your version.

There have been many Spider-Man video games based on movies, but this one was the first standalone game with its own story.

Spider-Man PS4 was released on September 7, 2018, to critical acclaim. There was so much hype around this game.

And it delivered.

I didn’t get a PlayStation until 2021, and the first game I played was Spider-Man’s spinoff, Spider-Man Miles Morales.

After I beat Miles Morales, I decided to play the original. The original has a very distinct feel. I always go back to the game because of the great characters and storytelling.

Spider-Man PS4/PS5 has a great original story for a Spider-Man game. I don’t want to say too much for the people who haven’t played it. But there is a moment at the end of the story that makes you genuinely feel bad for Peter. Moments like this one make you feel more connected to the character.

After I beat the game, I decided to beat it again, and then get the platinum trophy for it. That’s how much I love this game.

Even though I haven’t beaten the story in a while, I go back to swing around New York City because it is so pleasant to look at. The city is vibrant and it feels like you are playing a movie.

The swinging is so fast in this game, and there are so many buildings to swing and crawl on in this game. My favorite thing to do is swing around and fight crime wherever it is, and then go back to swinging.

The swinging in this game is so smooth and so clean, it felt like something out of a movie. Compared to previous Spider-Man games, the swinging is a huge upgrade.

Spider-Man PS4 brought back most of Spider-Man’s biggest foes. My favorite was Doc-Ock because of how he was a mentor for Peter but ended up being the biggest threat in the game.

A couple of months after the game came out, DLC for the game was released. There were 3 packs with 3 new stories. They were fine, but after beating them there was no reason to go back to them.

In 2020, Spider-Man Miles Morales was released. Then, a rerelease of the original came out, known as Spiderman PS5.

Spiderman PS5 is the version I played, and it’s the best way to play it. There are rarely any load screens and everything is crisp and clear.

The swinging manages to be even cleaner than the PS4 version. I ended up completing the game for a second time because of how much cooler it was on PS5.

There are many things to look forward to in the sequel, like the introduction of Venom and Kraven the Hunter, and how you can switch between Miles and Peter throughout the game.

But I still believe the original Spider-Man is the best superhero game because of how revolutionary it was at the time. And the sequel has a chance to be the best, but we’ll have to wait and see.

--

--