Ep13: Entrepreneurship 101 w/Greg Habstritt

Sam Goldberg
Playticity
Published in
4 min readMar 10, 2022

This is a reflection on Playticity Podcast Episode 13: Entrepreneurship 101 w/Greg Habstritt. Find the episode wherever you get your podcasts. It is also available on www.playticity.com/podcast

Moving on and Getting Over

I sit here looking out the window, scarfing down some extra almonds I threw in a ziploc bag last night, and feel the stress and anxiety building within, slowly.

When I imagined moving into my own apartment for the first time, all I could think about was the opportunity, the freedom, and the chance for a fresh start. I was done with the way things were, and after months of sacrifice, I was ready and able to head out on my own.

What I didn’t consider was the huge start-up cost of getting my place in order. Setting up internet, buying a new bed and desk, getting groceries, washing the dishes (no dishwasher), and having to go to the store to pick up odd things I forgot about, all while not neglecting my mental and physical health.

For those who have already been in my position, you are probably inwardly laughing at my naivety.

But despite the giggles, I think that we can all agree that having freedom is actually hard. Contrary to popular belief, I don’t think freedom is this ultimate state where we cease to worry about anything again, instead I am starting to realize that with great freedom, comes great responsibility (I think I heard this from Uncle Ben’s alter ego once).

And I think that the weight of this responsibility is the big thing keeping many of us from pursuing the things we truly want in life.

But Entrepreneurship, as discussed in this weeks podcast, opens up a world of possibility. As Greg said in the podcast,

“Every problem in the world could have a potential business built around it.”

We can also agree that there are no shortage of problems in this world. And if what Greg said is true, then there is no shortage of opportunities for freedom either (in North America at least).

Portrait by Abby Ross

In Will Smith’s audiobook ‘Will’ he talks about Quincy Jones, and how he was what he called a ‘magic thinker.’ He truly believes that the world is magic, and can create opportunities we never thought possible, if we only look for them, believe they are possible, and set up our environment just right.

Now, I’m not trying to come off like a law of attraction buff, or some other type of new age philosopher, but I don’t think what Quincy is saying is far-fetched either. This circles back to my Finding a Place Beyond Words article. We can either have a spotlight mind, where we are only focused on one thing — our struggles, our shortcomings, our trauma. Or we can see the stage as a whole and realize that there are boundless opportunities all around us.

Instead of focusing on all the ways that smart phones, and social media are making us inauthentic, horrible people, I want to shift that to focusing on the ways that these things can actually enable us to live better lives. Instead of judging yourself because of a stupid comment you made the other day, see it as an opportunity to improve your relationship with yourself, and take the next best action.

I mentioned the Anxiety is the Dizziness of Freedom short story by Ted Chiang in the podcast with Gillian. The message it delivers, and the one I go back to again and again, also cited by Atomic Habits Author James Clear is that —

Every action you take is a vote for the type of person you wish to become.

This lesson helps me realize that no goal is too big for me if I take step after step towards it.

If you want to start a business and something is holding you back. If you’re scared of the unknown, or of the responsibility of freedom, figure out what the next step you could take towards it is. Pile a little more snow on that snowball. And then one day you’re going to look down, and see that its started rolling down the hill all on its own.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see all of you players for Playticity Newsletter 9 on March 14.

--

--

Sam Goldberg
Playticity

I write for overthinking millennials, and the creative voice within.