PLDer in Spotlight: Mohammad Shaheed Khan

PLDx.org
PLDx.org
Published in
8 min readNov 25, 2016

PLD class: 17, Mod 5 2014

Current Employer: Gulf International Bank

Position: Vice President, Islamic Banking

He likes to call this “Abrahamic Banking” Finance as per guidance giving in Islam, Christianity and Judaism. Last year, he won the Global Islamic Finance Award for upcoming personality within this arena.

Location: Manama, Bahrain

Personal project: HBS Bahrain Dialogue #Hbdialogue

Email address: mshaheedkhan@post.harvard.edu

Social Media accounts:

Twitter

Facebook

LinkedIn

Mohammad (aka CEO “Chief Entertainment Officer” :)) is an Islamic banker and serial intrapreneur. In October 2015, he won the Global Islamic Finance Awards as an upcoming personality within the Islamic Finance space for his role in innovation and product development. Mohammad has been featured in leading journals, has lectured at a few universities, is a board member of the HBS Club of GCC and the founding President of its Bahrain chapter, and he is the curator of “HBS-Bahrain Dialogue” (#Hbdialogue) where thought leaders discuss diverse business related issues and solutions at the forum. He is currently spearheading the development of Islamic Banking products across Gulf International Banks franchise.

Islamic banking aims to achieve equal distribution of wealth via profit and loss sharing, risk sharing, while encouraging entrepreneurship. It is banking activity that is consistent with the principles of Islamic rulings whereby financial transactions are to be geared toward supporting productive economic activity. Hence, transactions are always either asset backed or asset based and the investors have a claim on the underlying assets.

Islam (Including Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism) prohibit the payment and receipt of interest (any form of benefit/profit arising from debt; same being considered immoral). Islam also prohibits financial products that involve excessive uncertainty (including short sales and gambling), and rules out financing of activities considered harmful to society.

The principles, which emphasize moral and ethical values in all dealings, have wide universal appeal. Accordingly it is one the fastest growing segments within financial sector even outpacing conventional banking.

1. How has the PLD Program changed you (personally/ professionally)?

PLD continues to be a phenomenal experience. I had always wanted to go to HBS but was not able to take two full years off for the MBA. Hence, PLD provided the needed flexibility, the core curriculum of an MBA, access to a new network and it lead to the much-coveted alumni status. In my opinion similar programs may disrupt the traditional MBA in the near future.

At PLD I got to meet a very talented, accomplished and diverse group of people; many of who became very close to me, akin to family. In addition to the solid relationships and bonds I developed, I got a unique global perspective on issues and opportunities to further hone my ability to think strategically and bigger. Furthermore, PLD has equipped me with the necessary tools to address issues, find out the root cause of problems, to constantly seek new experiences, to innovate and to lead.

Post PLD I have refined my career aspirations as result of the interaction with the cohort and larger PLD community. By surrounding myself with highly driven people I have (and continue to) upped my game tremendously; the HBS community inspires me to achieve more and also give back more. I have started to think in terms of the impact I am making, my personal growth; the refinement of my character and sharpening my ability to constantly innovate.

I try to remain very active within the HBS community, since graduating I have attended every PLD summit and other HBS events (in the region). I also curate the “HBS-Bahrain Dialogue” event whereby a fireside candid chat is held with different movers and shakers in the region on issues that matter most.

2. What are your chief takeaways from the program?

  • The strength of the network — forging true authentic sincere friendships.
  • Personal growth, especially after Module 5, by sticking to a set of daily rituals; discovering my authentic leadership style through reflection, meditation and practicing daily gratitude.
  • I have learned to practice mindfulness; which has given me a better sense of being present. I try to ensure I am fully engaged in the moment, which is helping considerably in both my personal and professional lives, both now being more unforgettable and truly meaningful.
  • I believe in the power of gratitude- Every night just before going to bed, a few friends from PLD send messages of gratitude to each other; 3 things for which we are grateful for the given day. I would recommend every one find committed friends/family and make it a must and part of daily routine. By committing to each other the group holds each other responsible.
  • Power of vulnerability; I am a more humble person now.

3. How do you exert your leadership in the role you have today?

“There are no bad soldiers, only bad officers”

  • My leadership style has evolved. Post PLD I stress a lot on the importance of setting right goals upfront and effectively communicating the same. As mostly a lot of time is wasted on non-priority items.
  • I also take calculated risks while still being biased towards (thoughtful) action; my responses are much more measured now.
  • I have become (pragmatically) inclusive; I involve in decision-making yet remain an independent decision maker.
  • I try to inculcate a sense of urgency; instill energy and passion which are contagious.

Post PLD I was given the opportunity to lead a strategic initiative for the bank; accelerate penetration into a new market segment across the franchise. This entailed strategy formulation and execution. I was in charge of a very large team; building dynamic capabilities to ensure we exploit existing business while exploring opportunities for the future. I was able to put every thing into action and learn and grow along the way.

4. What motivates you most as a leader?

  • Success, results, winning.
  • Bringing people and teams closer which creates value and magic.

5. Think of a person who has had a tremendous impact on you as a leader — maybe someone who was a mentor to you. Why and how did this person impact your life?

I have tried to seek wisdom from every one I have met. I closely observe and try to read, understand and analyze their actions. Accordingly I have had several influencers throughout my life, each one being involved at a different phase in my life and have left their unique impact on me. I have been fortunate to be mentored by a number of very successful men and women. But if I had to select one person, I would pick my father.

I have learnt a lot from him and the reason for his impact on me was because of his absolute trust in God, his impeccable ethics, his hard work and dedication, his sense of urgency yet measured response and above all his genuine graciousness towards all he met. All the above traits are engraved and literally rooted into my leadership psyche. For me, he is a living model of leadership. He would often quote Viktor E. Frankl to me:

“Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom”.

Furthermore, I have learnt a lot from former bosses, both how to lead and the bad ones showed me how not to lead. Interestingly enough, I believe that the horrible bosses have provided the greatest learning opportunities. Furthermore, the feedback of people working for me and the feedback of my peers has helped me better understand my strengths and weaknesses.

6. What is one characteristic that you believe every leader should possess?

I believe a few related characteristics which describe good leadership. Such as, inter alia, being optimistic and being constructively tough minded. A good leader has to be thick skinned, one who perseveres but not overly insensitive. Moreover, a leader must know how to choose the right team; pick the right person for the right job.

7. What is the best piece of advice you have been given, and why?

“Build your character. It is a life long process so start today”.

For me character building starts with the absolute trust in the Almighty; knowing He is Omnipresent, this belief ensures my internal compass is pointing north; I strive to do the right thing, the right way. It also means developing empathy, having a sense of purpose, measured emotions, willingness to trust, eternally optimistic yet not naive, forward thinking, doing my best (internal balance score card), measuring the impact of my decisions, it is being grateful for the opportunities I have been granted and to pass on the same onward.

8. What is one thing we’d never have guessed about you, even after reading your LinkedIn or Facebook profile?

My diversity! My father is from Caribbean Trinidad and Tobago and on the oher side my mom comes from the Baluchistan province of Pakistan. I was born in the holy city of Mecca (Saudi Arabia). I was married to an American once and now a gorgeous Russian. My children were born in Bahrain. United Nations in its essence.

9. What is it the PLD community can do for you or help you with, in terms of your challenges, goals or needs?

  • Next year my focus will be to lead efforts (co-chair a.k.a “Chairman Moe” from now :)) to plan and organize the PLD summit in Dubai. Naturally we, the planning team, intend this to be the best summit ever. Please reach out to us, if you would like to get involved, have some advice, suggestions, ideas or resources or would like to help/participate in any other way.
  • For a while now, I have been grappling with the idea of taking the entrepreneurial route. I am more than happy to discuss any opportunities available, if there is an interest to join forces or simply provide advice; be a sounding board as a means of getting experience.
  • My belief is that education is the key to alleviate poverty which can provide a level playing field for all. Accordingly I have piloted and am the patron for a school project (100% self financed) for the underprivileged in an underdeveloped rural area of Sindh province in Pakistan. The goal is to provide free education to kids, who otherwise would not have such an opportunity to study and develop themselves and would be simply living in high poverty of the streets.

Our project is open for everyone and natural donations or any other initiative is always more than welcome.

My vision for the future is to expand this project and transform it into opportunity for truly giftd kids from the poor background across the world to help them with their education and give them an opportunity to go to Harvard and other prestigious universities. This will entail a program where PLD’ers can directly mentor and coach selected students.

“The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.”

10. What is it you can give or how can you contribute to the PLD community?

  • The strength of my network. Let me know if you need assistance in the Gulf countries. I enjoy bringing people closer and in connecting people.
  • I am leading the HBS alumni chapter in Bahrain and sit on the board for the GCC wide club, PLDs impact is being felt within the HBS network and beyond.
  • Let me know if you need help understanding Islamic Finance and its huge potential.
  • I would like to extend my offer and if you are interested to assist you with understanding the great merits of global potential of Islamic Finance.
  • I am part of the several governing boards as well I represent advisory role for philanthropic and other commercial organizations.

*Updated on November 27, 2016.*

This article was originally published on PLDx.org.

--

--

PLDx.org
PLDx.org

Online community platform that connects all past & present participants of Harvard’s Program for Leadership Development (PLD).