Something was off. It’s been a rough day.

naii.io - Alexander Kluge
“Please leave…”
2 min readJun 23, 2024

My nose was like Niagara Falls. Tears were racing down my cheeks. Sitting on a park bench, headphones in, trying to block out the world with some Savage Garden.

Stylized, paper-cut art scene featuring a person sitting on a wooden park bench. The figure is wearing headphones and a tracksuit, rendered in a minimalistic, faceless manner. Surrounding the bench are intricately designed trees and plants with layers of paper-like textures in shades of teal, white, and beige. Large leaves and raindrop shapes enhance the background, creating a serene, abstract nature setting. A feeling whimsy and tranquility, emphasizing peacefulness of the moment and sadness.

You’ve heard “show, don’t tell” a thousand times, right? But how do you actually do it?

Well, I just gave you an example.

Instead of saying, “I was sad,” I described the scene.

You pictured me staring blankly, the wind rustling leaves, and my nose running. You saw and felt my sadness without me saying it.

This is storytelling basics. It’s what keeps readers glued to your emails, and it’s what makes your message hit home.

Want to perfect this in your emails? I’ll give you a story-selling crash course and show you two more powerful perception tricks.

Hit me up, and let’s get started.

Joke Time:

Why did the writer sit on the park bench with a runny nose and tears streaming down his face?

Because he wanted to show, not tell, how rough his day was.

Onward,

Alexander “shows a crying river to express sadness” Kluge

//

You read “Please leave…”, the only hand-written letter on the internet.

Daily letters in the past tense that made you feel something in the present moment and cracked a smile once in a while.

Plus, if you joined my private email list, quiet announcements and sneak peeks of my journey to a €100,000 Annual Recurring Revenue–my weekly {Sunday Truth}.

--

--