Breaking Up With a Soul Mate Was The Best Thing I Ever Did

For reasons I could only feel, I knew this love wasn’t right.

Nadège, sex scholar
Pleasure Science

--

Photo by Oleksandr P.

I remember our Astrologer looking at our birth charts and gasping. He had never seen two people with more compatibility.

This was what it was like to date my ex. Everyone was instantly invested in our love. Our relationship had a charge that captivated others, and even as individuals, we were impressive community leaders.

I’m not going to lie, it was intoxicating to be in a “power couple” — but as time went on I began to go from energized to exhausted. Sex was great, our hobbies overlapped, and our communication styles were compatible enough to get us through even the hardest of fights; but something wasn’t right.

My feelings felt like a betrayal to the woman I loved and the life I lived. I knew that if I shared my feelings everyone would be shocked. Its daunting to be in a relationship that other people are invested in.

Time went on and this gradual, gnawing exhaustion persisted. Unwilling to blame the relationship, I made attempts to take responsibilities off my plate in the other areas of my life. I delegated tasks in my business to outside contractors. I created firmer boundaries with my family. I was more rigorous about how I spent time…

--

--

Nadège, sex scholar
Pleasure Science

Sex scholar & bestselling author featured in Cosmo, Women's Health, & The History Channel. Learn what your natural sex strengths are → PleasureScience.com