Sometimes, I Still Feel Like The Ugly Girl From High School

Beauty has little to do with self-worth.

Nadège, sex scholar
Pleasure Science

--

Photo by cottonbro.

For whatever reason, I always ended up the best friend of the hot girl. This first began in Junior High, where my funny charisma gained me acceptance into the “popular group”, while my loud personality earned me disdain from my crushes.

High School transformed this experience into something more sinister. Now my beautiful friends had breasts, while I was still wearing a training bra and braces. I soon found myself being used as a stepping stone by boys who wanted to fuck my friends and girls who wanted to be my friends. Once these people started getting attention from my beautiful BFFs, I ceased to exist. Or worst, it was annoying that I existed.

College was a confusing experience. I now had curves of my own, teeth free of metal, and piercing blue eyes that were not obstructed by glasses. I realized, with a flutter in my heart, that by all conventional standards I was beautiful. It was all I ever wanted, but in my mind and heart, I was still the jaded, ugly girl from High School desperate for the validation of others.

We live in a world were beauty is currency

I wanted plastic surgery for years. I wanted breasts. I wanted a nose job. I wanted…

--

--

Nadège, sex scholar
Pleasure Science

Sex scholar & bestselling author featured in Cosmo, Women's Health, & The History Channel. Learn what your natural sex strengths are → PleasureScience.com