Interview with Featured Pledgecamp Advisor: Randi Zuckerberg, CEO of Zuckerberg Media

Tania Grebennik
Pledgecamp
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2018

--

Pledgecamp has a number of notable advisors who have helped scale organizations across the media, software, and blockchain markets. Here is our introduction and testimonial video of Pledgecamp advisor, Randi Zuckerberg — CEO of Zuckerberg Media, editor-in-chief (EIC) of Dot Complicated, and former Director of Market Development at Facebook.

My name is Randi Zuckerberg, I’m the founder of Zuckerberg media. I’m also an author, a radio host, and just a lover of technology and entrepreneurs. I got my start in Silicon Valley working at Facebook and leading the marketing team there. Since then I’ve gone on to invest in, advise, and mentor hundreds of entrepreneurs. For me, it always comes down to the team. It always comes down to the entrepreneurs that are behind something. Are these entrepreneurs that can execute or these entrepreneurs that are willing to roll up their sleeves and put in the hard work? I truly truly truly believe this is a team that’s gonna get it done.

I first got acquainted with the Pledgecamp team when they were at PCH at the incubator and accelerator. Then I invited Eddie to be on my Sirius XM talk radio show when I first launched the show, as an expert in crowdfunding. I think the world of crowdfunding is still in an infant stage. Right now you can do a lot with crowdfunding to support entrepreneurs, but it’s still a bit of an antiquated model because backers put money into projects, they don’t always know if that project is going to pan out. In fact, a lot of projects don’t have a high success rate and then what happens is the backers get jaded about crowdfunding and they don’t come back and everyone loses. Especially in this new economy, there’s a lot of trust that goes into interactions with strangers and it’s going to be more and more essential that we develop mechanisms where money is held in escrow or is phased out depending on certain milestones being reached. That’s why I’ve been so excited about smart contracts and some of the developments in crypto and blockchain because I think we finally entered a world where people across the globe from one another can engage in really thoughtful, smart entrepreneurial projects together.

I think crowdfunding has been a great first step in decentralizing funding. The backing of projects, traditionally you had to go to a few big investors or banks to get a loan or movie studios, and now it’s time to make crowdfunding available across the globe. To take the intermediaries out, who still get paid even if a project doesn’t happen, and incentivize everyone to be aligned for a vision of entrepreneurship.

The kind of teams that I like to back and support and work with are the teams that have grit, that are willing to put in the work, that are willing to take in all the data of the market, and the trends, but also have a clear vision of their own. That’s why I’ve been so excited to support Pledgecamp. I really consider myself a patron of entrepreneurship. That’s I wake up every morning and I think how can I support more entrepreneurs, and more importantly, how can I scale my support of entrepreneurs. So, for me when I can support a project like Pledgecamp that is going to give millions of entrepreneurs a new opportunity to connect globally around their projects and raise funding in a new way, for me that’s the vision you know. Being able to really support and empower entrepreneurs like that is the dream.

Learn more about Pledgecamp’s other advisors by watching our YouTube video interviews and/or reading this blog post introducing them.

More about Pledgecamp

--

--