Celebrating Mothers Day at Plotly: Empowering Working Moms with Flexibility and Support

Plotly
Plotly
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2024

Mother’s Day is a time to reflect on the invaluable role mothers play both in the home and the workplace. Achieving a balance between work responsibilities and family life is a significant challenge many working mothers face.

This Mother’s Day, we turn the spotlight on Laura Gray, VP of People Operations, and Nicole Arksey, Director of Product Management. Both leaders share how Plotly’s supportive environment has enabled them to excel as professionals while being present and active in their children’s lives.

Laura Gray, VP of People Operations

Can you share how Plotly has supported your work-life balance as a working mom? What specific policies or aspects of the company culture have been most beneficial?

Flexible working hours have allowed me to accomplish my work around the needs of my family. I appreciate being able to step out for errands or appointments and then catch up on work later in the day. Plotly offers flex PTO, as well as designated sick and personal days. There’s also a top-up program for parents.

Overall, I’ve felt a strong willingness from Plotly's leadership to listen to the needs of its people, which has been important in building the supportive culture we have today. The ability to work remotely on a full-time basis has been particularly beneficial for my family, especially when we relocated from Montreal to Vancouver Island.

The supportive nature of our team also stands out. Team members are always ready to assist or jump in to help. The commitment and dedication that our people show to each other truly enhance our company culture.

Additionally, it’s been wonderful for my kids to grow up around the inclusive environment of Plotly, even attending lunches and becoming part of the community in the early days in the Montreal office.

What advice would you give to other working moms joining Plotly, or what do you wish you knew when you started?

My advice to working moms in general is to be vocal about your needs. This applies across the board — your managers and colleagues may not fully understand your work-life challenges unless you speak up. Don’t hesitate to request any accommodations or temporary work arrangements that will help you manage your responsibilities more effectively.

How do you find inspiration?

I find inspiration from seeing and feeling how my work is benefiting other people. Here at Plotly, I get a lot of great feedback about our culture. But external to Plotly, I try to give back where I can. I’ve been volunteering some of my time with a female-founded cleaning co-operative — helping them build their organization from the ground up and build the people processes needed to succeed. I want to do more of this work in the future.

A few years ago, I attended an event at the John Molson School of Business where I was on a panel speaking about women in the workforce. The moderator, a radio host from CBC Montreal, was really intrigued that Plotly, as a young start-up, was offering a parental leave top-up to employees. She interviewed me afterward and I was a guest on her show. What was inspiring is that she thought this was worth sharing. That perhaps other companies would change their policies to do the same.

I guess at the end of the day, I want to be part of something that makes the corporate world more accessible for working mothers and parents, which is why I remain so passionate about People Operations.

Nicole Arksey, Director of Product Management

Can you share how Plotly has supported your work-life balance as a working mom? What specific policies or aspects of the company culture have been most beneficial?

The flexibility of working at home ensures that I can be there for my daughter’s important events. I don’t have to stress about taking off from the office early or figuring out how to get home and it saves a ton of time and worry. I love that I get to see her off for her school day!

Our personal leave days are also a helpful policy to take days as needed for those things that come up to help my daughter. They are flexible days that can be taken whenever and ensure that if I need to I can take time with her.

What advice would you give to other working moms joining Plotly, or what do you wish you knew when you started?

Don’t be afraid to ask for what you need. Sometimes as moms, we think we can do everything (and usually we can) but it’s ok to take the time you need and ask for help when things get overwhelming.

What motivates you to excel both at home and in your career? How do you find inspiration?

It’s so fun to see my daughter ask questions about my work and get a better understanding of all the creative problems we get to see. She loves what UX designers get to do and has a great mind for business. She and her friend started an online clothing business targeting girls her age with inspiring quotes and her excitement and commitment to it continue to inspire me. Being someone that my daughter is proud of inspires me to make sure I love what I do.

***

Laura and Nicole’s experiences at Plotly reveal how tailored policies and a commitment to work-life balance can provide a supportive environment for families. With benefits like flexible working hours and the option to work remotely, Plotly demonstrates how thoughtful corporate practices enable employees to better integrate their professional and personal lives.

Interested in joining our team? View our open positions.

--

--

Plotly
Plotly
Editor for

The low-code framework for rapidly building interactive, scalable data apps in Python.