Learnings from creating a cryptocurrency web app

Caner Irfanoglu
Plotly
Published in
4 min readJan 23, 2022

--

Hi there. It’s been a while since my last post about the candlestick recognition. Since then, I’ve been building a cryptocurrency technical analysis dashboard named “Crypto Dash”. As 2022 began, the project hit the important milestone of being publicly available. At this point, I believe it can be insightful to share some of the learnings and challenges for those who are looking for creating scalable web applications.

Crypto Dash App Overview

Why I built the app

Before getting into how it’s built, I’d like to briefly mention about my motivations.

Visualization of previously leveraged tabular data: I started trading cryptocurrencies in 2017. Back then, before making trading decisions, I was evaluating couple indicators for predicting the current market condition as well as the market trend. Although, I was impressed by how these simple metrics are helpful for my trades, it was obvious that a more interactive and visual representation would be much better for seeing historical trends and compare the signals.

From tabular data to nice interactive visuals

Interest in Crypto Market: I believe cryptocurrencies are here to stay and revolutionize the financial system. Although, there…

--

--