Meet Celia Lopez: Customer Success Engineer

Plotly
Plotly
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2024

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to work at Plotly?

In this blog series, we will provide insight into the daily experiences of working at Plotly. We have interviewed team members from various departments, including Engineering, Customer Success and Solutions, Sales, and Professional Services, to give a comprehensive view of Plotly.

What is your favorite part about working for Plotly?

My favorite part about working for Plotly is the Customer Success team and the ability to work remotely. Despite being geographically distant from each other, I feel a stronger connection to my team members than I did with coworkers in previous roles. The team culture emphasizes empathy, kindness, and a genuine desire to help, which makes collaborating very fulfilling. Additionally, working remotely allows me to spend more time with my dog, which is a significant perk for me.

Why did you choose to work at Plotly? What made us stand out?

I chose to work at Plotly because I had used Plotly in my previous job and found it incredibly engaging. I learned it on my own and was excited by the vast possibilities it offered for creative coding. Whatever I wanted to achieve with code seemed possible with Plotly, which made the prospect of working here very appealing. The opportunity to blend coding with creativity in my work really stood out to me.

What would you say to someone who was considering Plotly as a place to work?

To succeed here, you need to be proactive and creative. While there are structures in place in large companies, in this environment, you’re encouraged to independently find solutions and create your own strategies. Remember, assistance is available if you ask for it, but it’s essential to actively seek out ways to solve problems on your own.

What three words describe your Plotly experience?

Unexpected, Challenging, and Growth 🪴

In a few sentences, what do you do at Plotly?

At Plotly, I assist Dash Enterprise customers by answering their questions about what is possible with our tools, providing sample code, and helping them debug issues. Essentially, I act as a code detective, solving coding mysteries every day.

What is the most significant thing you have learned while working here?

The most significant thing I’ve learned while working here is to be more confident and to effectively project that confidence.

What are your proudest accomplishments so far during your time at Plotly?

During my time at Plotly, my proudest accomplishments involve developing sample code for features that initially seemed impossible. Often, clients ask if certain functionalities are possible, and although they might not be documented, we find innovative ways to implement them. I maintain a folder of these “cool apps,” showcasing solutions we created for challenges that initially appeared insurmountable.

Do you have a mentor or role model? Who are they, and what are they like?

A mentor and role model of mine is Taylor Hale, our Product Onboarding Team Lead. She stands out as a woman in a tech company without a traditional technology background, yet she consistently delivers amazing work. Taylor has solved numerous challenges with both thoroughness and kindness, exemplifying the best of both worlds. Her intelligence and compassion make her a model professional who embodies the qualities of being both highly skilled and genuinely humane. These traits are why she is such a significant role model for me.

Have you read, watched, or listened to anything recently that has really impacted you?

Recently, I’ve been deeply influenced by a TikTok account that shares testimonies and experiences of women in marriage and parenthood. It has impacted me because it highlights the importance of giving visibility to diverse experiences. It’s gratifying to see that these stories help others feel heard and less isolated, fostering connections through shared stories. I appreciate how even seemingly insignificant posts on social media can significantly affect others, bringing positivity, and a sense of community.

What advice would you give to someone new joining Plotly?

Ask lots of questions! Don’t be shy.

Do you have a secret talent, or (superpower) you want people to know about?

One of my unique skills is perfectly assessing which size Tupperware is needed for different amounts of leftovers.

What is your favorite activity outside of work?

Reading! 📚 I love stories and last year I got back into writing! I mainly write short stories and fantasy, and recently I had the pleasure of getting a couple of them published.

What is your favorite place to travel?

Anywhere I can go with my dog 🐶

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

If I could live anywhere in the world, I would choose the north of Spain. It appeals to me because it’s quieter than Madrid, surrounded by beautiful nature. The region features spacious, light-filled houses, which I find ideal. Additionally, its proximity to both beaches and mountains, along with pleasant weather is why I want to move there.

What’s one thing you can’t live without?

Sun! ☀️

Looking to join the Plotly team? View our open positions!

--

--

Plotly
Plotly
Editor for

The low-code framework for rapidly building interactive, scalable data apps in Python.