Meet Emily Kellison-Linn: Software Engineer

Plotly
Plotly
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2024

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to work at Plotly?

In this blog series, we will provide insight into the daily experiences of working at Plotly. We have interviewed team members from various departments, including Engineering, Customer Success and Solutions, Sales, and Professional Services, to give a comprehensive view of Plotly.

What would you say to someone who was considering Plotly as a place to work?

I really enjoy working with my colleagues at Plotly, and I believe everyone here would say the same. They’re smart, interesting, and helpful, which enhances my day-to-day experience. Our team consists of individuals from diverse backgrounds, not only in programming but also across various academic fields and life experiences, having lived in many different places.

What advice would you give to someone new joining Plotly?

In a remote-first company, building working relationships can be challenging, especially for newcomers. Don’t hesitate to be active on Slack, including in the off-topic channels! Reach out to people individually and set up brief calls to get acquainted.

Why did you choose to work at Plotly? What made us stand out?

I enjoyed speaking with the people I met during the interview process. I had previously used the Plotly graphing library, so I was familiar with the tool. It’s exciting to work for a company that creates a product I use.

What is your favorite Plotly memory?

One perk of working from the Montreal office is the opportunity to meet colleagues in person when they visit for an onsite. Over the past year, I’ve really enjoyed meeting people from sales, engineering, and product. It’s fun to have a full house in the office!

What three words describe your Plotly experience?

Creative, exciting, and friendly.

In a few sentences, what do you do at Plotly?

I work on both open source and enterprise libraries, focusing on Plotly graphing libraries as well as other open source and enterprise tools on the Engineering team!

What are your proudest accomplishments so far during your time at Plotly?

Previously on the Professional Services team, I collaborated with teammates to develop numerous complex apps. These handled large data sources, intricate plots, and various interesting challenges from clients. We used Dash Enterprise to visualize some truly fascinating data.

Do you have a secret talent or (superpower) you want people to know about?

Ever since a Pi Day competition in middle school, I’ve been able to recite about 70 digits of Pi on demand. I’ve tried to forget them to make room for more useful information, but they seem to be firmly lodged in my memory.

What is your favorite activity outside of work?

I enjoy photography, and playing music — I’m part of a percussion band in Montreal — knitting, fiber arts, and cycling around the city. I also like to venture up to the northern edge of the island, where there’s a nature park and a pier to explore.

What is your favorite place to travel?

I would say the coast in California, where I grew up, has many beautiful spots along the ocean and the highway.

Interested in joining our team? View our open positions.

--

--

Plotly
Plotly
Editor for

The low-code framework for rapidly building interactive, scalable data apps in Python.