Meet Megan Dyer: Customer Operations Administrator

Plotly
Plotly
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2024

Life at Plotly: People & Culture Blog #14

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to work at Plotly?

In this blog series, we will provide insight into the daily experiences of working at Plotly. We have interviewed team members from various departments, including Engineering, Customer Success and Solutions, Sales, and Professional Services, to give a comprehensive view of Plotly.

Why did you join Plotly?

Upon reviewing the website and the ‘About Me’ section, it was clear that I wanted to work at Plotly. This feeling was confirmed when I met with the team. Unlike some interviews where you’re left uncertain, in this case, everything I had read and hoped for turned out to be true.

What makes Plotly unique?

What sets Plotly apart is the people. Day in and day out, they are consistently joyful, intelligent, kind, and always willing to help and connect.

In a few sentences, what do you do at Plotly?

In my role at Plotly, I handle Customer Operations, focusing on the behind-the-scenes aspects of a customer’s journey from Sales to their transition to Customer Success. My work involves ensuring we have all the correct information from the customer, bridging any communication gaps. Essentially, I act as the central point for all customer-related information and data, maintaining and managing these important details.

Can you describe a typical day here at Plotly?

No two days are the same; it depends on what’s happening, the time of year, and the part of the month we’re in. I enjoy this variety, especially when reviewing my emails and to-do lists. A lot of the tasks are similar but have slight differences. For me, the fun comes in those differences; they are each a chance to learn and improve. I usually have a few meetings, which are a nice time to connect with coworkers, see what they’re up to, and what they’re working on.

What are you currently working on, and what excites you about this project?

I’m currently working on implementing DealHub, a platform for quoting and generating contracts. What excites me about this project is how it streamlines our Sales teams’ workflows and overall functionality. By gathering essential information and condensing various processes, this tool makes their jobs easier and more efficient.

What would you say to someone who was considering Plotly as a place to work?

If you’re considering working at Plotly, I’d say go for it — it’s fantastic! The people here are wonderful — creating a great environment that’s highly supportive of taking charge of your projects. Coming to work here feels good and fulfilling.

What is the most significant thing you have learned while working here?

The most significant thing I’ve learned at Plotly is that while everyone shares a common end goal, each person approaches it differently. This has taught me the importance of creating processes that are adaptable and inclusive, allowing for these diverse approaches.

What are your proudest accomplishments so far during your time at Plotly?

I am proud that I’ve been able to learn the intricacies of how everything functions together. Understanding that all departments have different needs and expectations, I’ve worked to ensure my work is representative and understandable, helping everyone understand how teams function. It’s challenging to pinpoint a single achievement, but it’s the teamwork that stands out.

Have you read, watched, or listened to anything recently that has really impacted you?

Recently, I’ve been impacted by Brené Brown’s Daring Greatly. It emphasizes how vulnerability is important for making genuine connections, especially in the context of a workplace.

What is your favorite activity outside of work?

My favorite activity outside of work is sewing. I started in 2020, teaching myself through YouTube tutorials and sew-along blogs. It’s a great way to engage in a non-screen activity.

Interested in joining our team? View our open positions!

--

--

Plotly
Plotly
Editor for

The low-code framework for rapidly building interactive, scalable data apps in Python.