Why I Joined Pluck

Erik Lydecker
Pluck Esports
2 min readNov 16, 2021

--

Lucas Mohamad, Regional Manager LATAM at Pluck

Wow, I hardly even know where to begin… I grew up on the outskirts of the Brazilian capital, Brasilia. I always loved gaming, but growing up, we could hardly afford the gear to play, let alone to develop games, so I never thought of it as a possible career path. As my father worked himself up the corporate ladder, we were able to move to a better area and I got inspired to study civil engineering and subsequently to follow in his footsteps.

While I was fairly successful in pursuing a “traditional” career path, I still felt that something was missing. Until an opportunity to work in esports came along and literally changed my world.

Not in my wildest dreams had I imagined that working with esports could be an actual career option — especially not for someone like me. While I have played video games since I learned how to tap a keyboard, the professional side of esports just hasn’t been available in my world…

However, while definitely in my element industry-wise, after a couple of years in one of the oldest and most traditional esports organizations in the world, some of its deeply rooted organizational challenges started to feel overwhelming and I began thinking about new opportunities.

That’s when Erik reached out to me and introduced me to Pluck. And it was love at first sight!

Pluck as an organization is much more than a company trying to enrich itself. The founders, as well as all people that have joined or are joining, share a vision to create a better and more democratically accessible world for gamers and, by extension, the human species, as we enter the “metaverse era”.

To me, Pluck as an employer is so much more than just that. It’s an enabler for me to do what I love most while helping people that share my passion for esports to earn a living while pursuing their dream.

Pluck is set to “empower one billion gamers”. I am one of those gamers. To have the opportunity to pay it forward, and to motivate, inspire, and enable like minded gamers to realize their wildest dreams and aspirations is frankly an honour.

--

--