Broken Wings

hannahwrites
Pluma Manila
Published in
1 min readJul 22, 2020
Photo from Pinterest

I have known some floras I wanted at my own funeral,
knowing how many bouquets honored me that day.

I split open my veins like a dimension
reminiscent of days where I foresee deathbeds.

My family wondered,
can we make it through another day?
Death scares me for what it has taken,
yet, I’m not afraid to die,
it’s all I deserve.
So I await the day pain erupts
from my throat,
acknowledging the days a soul
lived inside of my body,
footprints that walked,
belonging to me.

But I learned so well.
How to suffer with a smile,
alarming the beating of my heart
how unfair—
I don’t want to take these deep breaths,
while I masquerade as a member of the undead
Never outgrowing the desire to rot with the poltergeist residing under my bed.

This article is published by Pluma Manila, a Creative Platform for Everything Filipino. If you’re Filipino or Pinoy at heart, Be part of our team and share your craft with us. Maraming Salamat!

Write for us! Send us an Email: plumamanila@gmail.com

--

--