Ekene Ashinze: Self-taught (and IQ verified) Angular expert

Pluralsight
Pluralsight
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2018

If anyone is a shining example of how determination and access to technology learning can change lives, it’s Ekene Ashinze. As a high schooler in Nigeria, he learned about coding through a blog, and taught himself how to code websites on his phone — despite the fact that electricity was scarce and data was expensive. It wasn’t until he took a Pluralsight skill assessment, that Ekene realized how strong his Angular skills had become. We asked Ekene how he overcame obstacles to become an expert developer.

How long have you been a developer?

Ekene Ashinze: I started coding about four years ago with my phone, but I stopped because I couldn’t afford data and my phone was stolen. It wasn’t until I met Segun Abisago exactly a year ago and he gave me his laptop that the whole coding fire was rekindled. That was when I got introduced to NodeJS and the rest.

How did you hear of Pluralsight?

EA:I had actually been looking for JavaScript tests, but most were paid. I saw the Pluralsight ad on Instagram and decided to give it a shot.

Before getting your IQ, did you know how strong your skills in JavaScript were?

EA:I didn’t really know how good I was in JavaScript before I did the assessment. With frameworks and libraries coming out every day, sometimes it just feels like there’s still so much you don’t know.

Did your score surprise you?

EA:While taking the tests I knew I would have a high score, but it was until I saw the phrase “Angular Expert” that I became surprised at the fact that I’m actually not bad.

What does your Pluralsight IQ mean to you and your career?

EA:The assessments have been a source of encouragement to me since I now know that I’m not a novice in JavaScript. I even share screenshots of my Pluralsight IQ when I apply for jobs. I was privileged to speak with the CEO of Andela, Jeremy Johnson, due to it.

What do you recommend for someone just learning JavaScript?

EA:My advice is to really understand the language, the basics and pitfalls, because JavaScript can be very confusing at times. Frameworks come and go, but the language still remains. It’s easier to learn a framework once you already know the language.

As a JavaScript expert, where do you go from here? What next?

EA:Well, JavaScript is expanding every day. There is still so much to learn. I’ve also picked Python as a second programming language. I’m really fascinated with machine learning, like everyone. It has applications in cell biology, genetics and molecular biology, my current course in school. Recently I’ve been into Python data science and general frontend development (Angular, React and Vue). And I recently completed a course on Dockerizing an Angular app.

What advice do you have for someone who wants to up-level their skills, but is having trouble committing enough time?

EA:Good time management is very important. As a student I know I do not have the same amount of free time as my peers so I tend to plan out my day ahead of time. I do most of my study very early in the morning. That’s the only free, productive time I have. Making time is actually not easy, especially with school and work.

What’s the best career advice you’ve ever received?

EA:Go deep before you go wide. This sentence really struck me. I have learned that it’s not how much you know, but understanding how little you know. I also learned to always be inquisitive.

Want to see how strong your skills are? Take a free skill assessment and discover your Skill IQ in as little as five minutes.

--

--

Pluralsight
Pluralsight

We are *the* technology learning platform, dedicated to helping teams create the future.